Can an AoO prompt an AoO?

Grayhawk

First Post
Example:

Fighter1 tries to sunder the weapon of fighter2 (none of which has the Sunder feat).

This prompts an AoO from fighter2. Now, what if he chooses to make a sunder atempt with this AoO?

Wouldn't this prompt an AoO from fighter1? Which could be used to make a sunder atempt, prompting an AoO from fighter2, etc., starting a vicious circle.

(I'm aware that a character can only make one AoO against an opponenet, but how do you know when to 'break this circle'?)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes, it can provoke. If it bothers you, don't allow someone who has already provoked in the chain to take an AoO. That would shorten it considerably.

So fighterA sunders toward fighterB, and provokes.

FighterB AoOs, sundering towards FighterA. This provokes. But fighterA can't AoO because he's already acted in this chain, though his buddy beside him could.

Even without this, it's not very hard to keep track, because of the only 1 AoO per round rule, or more but only 1 toward an opponent if you have combat reflexes. It generally doesn't cascade so that you should worry about it.
 

I seem to recall, from these boards, that you can't do anything as an AoO that would provoke an AoO in return. Don't remember where I saw that though. Anybody else remember that thread?
 

kreynolds said:
I seem to recall, from these boards, that you can't do anything as an AoO that would provoke an AoO in return. Don't remember where I saw that though. Anybody else remember that thread?
That's not in the books, but I've seen it suggested as a house rule.

The rule would be superfluous anyway. The point of it was to stop an "infinite loop" of AoO provoking AoO provoking AoO, but that couldn't happen in the first place, since you can only ever take one AoO per round on a given target.
 
Last edited:

Ouch...

kreynolds said:
I seem to recall, from these boards, that you can't do anything as an AoO that would provoke an AoO in return. Don't remember where I saw that though. Anybody else remember that thread?

I don't remember the thread, but I don't agree with this at first glance. I'd like to see/read the thread and the arguments on both sides.

If a Mage holding a dagger casts a spell while standing next to me (inducing an AoO), I'm unable to Grapple him in response?

If someone comes up and tries to Bull Rush me off a cliff, I can't use my AoO to try and Grapple him first to save my hide?

If my buddy is dropped by a sword-wielding Orc and I step up holding my morningstar to bandage my buddy with a Heal check, the Orc is unable to attempt to Disarm me, Grapple me or Strike at my morningstar?

I'd much rather just follow the "no more than one AoO per opponent per round" rule and break the cycle than limit everyone's actions based on whether they induce an AoO with an AoO.

DrSpunj
 


hammymchamham said:
I remember it being discussed that you can't sunder as an AoO

That's the one. I didn't really follow that thread very closely, namely because of what AuraSeer point out (no more than one AoO per opponent per round anyway), so in retrospect, I probably should have just kept my mouth shut. :)
 
Last edited:


See and I remember some place long ago saying that AoO do not provoke AoO.
The logic behind it was your already doing something and cant stop to attack someone who is attacking you becuase you did something that lets your guard down.
 

PH p.122:

'An AoO is a single melee attack'

PH p.136:

'You can use a melee attack... to strike a weapon'

Why are people saying that you can't sunder as an AoO?
 

Remove ads

Top