Can an AoO prompt an AoO?

Grayhawk said:
'An attack of opportunity is caused by a situation where one of the combatants puts themselves into a position of vulnerability. Since this is a free attack and there would be no penalty for doing nothing, making a sunder attack as an attack of opportunity does not provoke an attack of opportunity.'
This is unsupported by anything in the rules.

Worse, it doesn't even appear to make sense. What the heck does he mean by "no penalty for doing nothing"? There's never a penalty for giving up an action! If I were to spend a turn twiddling my thumbs, nothing bad would happen to me, but if I used that turn to sunder I'd still suffer an AoO.

I wonder why Customer Service doesn't require their employees to read the rulebook.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


kreynolds said:


The only thing I wonder about is that the customer is always right, yet...

The customer is not always right. People are trained to act that way towards customers though. More often than not, they're wrong. Of course, part of my job is expaining to those who use our services on how they screwed up. Occasionally, they're right and we goofed. But usually, its the other way around.
 

hammymchamham said:
The customer is not always right.

You're preachin' to the choir. When I was younger, I worked at El Chico. I can't even remember how many tables I asked (or even paid!) to leave. But it's all good. I was a bartender for a while there too, and that was awesome, mostly 'cause it gave me the opportunity to chase a guy down and tackle him in the parking lot. :D
 

I just asked Wotc the following:

'According to the SRD and PH p. 128, striking a weapon is a standard action.

Does this mean that you cannot choose to take this action as an AoO or as one of your attacks in a full attack action?'

Here's their answer (in less than half an hour!)

'Technically not, but it is a reasonable course of action, so it would be up to the DM to decide whether or not to allow it.'
 

From what I remember of the Sage's point of view on this, he stated something along the lines of "Anything that can be accomplished through the use of the attack action can be performed as part of an attack of opportunity", which is why you can trip, disarm, and grapple, but not cast a spell.
 

Remove ads

Top