Can I charge and tumble?

Olive

Explorer
Just what it says:

can i make a tumble during a charge? The tumble would be to avoid AoOs...
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


I think you can Tumble as part of a movement action, therefore you should be able to Tumble during the movement portion of a Charge.

I can see that since tumbling means to weave and dodge, you may be losing the momentum of the charge itself, especially if you tumble "past" the opponents and not just "around" (i.e. through an occupied square). If a DM decides you can't effectively do both, or that if you fail the Tumble check you lose the +2 AC, it wouldn't make it an unreasonable house rule anyway.
 

Per the Tumble skill check description (PHB p. 75), you tumble "as part of normal movement". I don't consider a charge "normal" movement, since it is a special action that "carries tight restrictions on how you can move" (PHB p. 124).
 


I Think as a Thief Acrobat (Song and Silence) of higher level you can make a cartwheel attack by tumble/charge toward a foe (tumble check DC20). On a success you can make a sneak attack. But I don´t know if you can avoid AoO by doing so (don´t have the book at hand).
 

A charge has to be straight line movement, when you tumble you are going aroud and through people, completely destroying your momentum. It would not make sense to do both, and as mentioned above, charge is a special combat movement and not standard movement.
 

KnowTheToe said:
A charge has to be straight line movement, when you tumble you are going aroud and through people, completely destroying your momentum. It would not make sense to do both, and as mentioned above, charge is a special combat movement and not standard movement.

Watch a football player. They do it all the time. :)
 

Henry said:


Watch a football player. They do it all the time. :)

You´re both right, KnowTheToe and Henry. I just checked my books and the cartwheel attack has to be at least 10 feet in a straight line. The thief acrobat gets this unusual attack at 5th level. The benefit is the sneak attack after surprising the foe with sommersaulting and cartwheeling towards him. Failure means that you get only a normal charge (+2 attack, -2 AC). But still I don´t know if you can avoid any AoO with it.
 

Re: Re: Can I change and tumble?

AGGEMAM said:


Yes, you can change your clothes and tumble them, but usually you have to wash them first.

Damn, you beat me to that.


Usually you cannot tumble in a charge, but some PrC's, and possibly feats, allow it (I think the drunken master from Sword and Fist has something in that direction)
 

Remove ads

Top