Can you Cleave after a Cup De' Grassey?

two

First Post
Sounds idiotic, I know.

I allowed it; was I smoking that special Jamaican happy weed?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

two said:
Sounds idiotic, I know.

I allowed it; was I smoking that special Jamaican happy weed?

If the target was already "dropped" (i.e. unconscious), no. If the target was say, held, sure.

And it's "Coup de Grace", not "Blow of Fat" :)

Andargor
 

two said:
Sounds idiotic, I know.

I allowed it; was I smoking that special Jamaican happy weed?

Technically, you are not allowed to cleave for two reasons:

1) Coup de grace is not an attack action. It is a special action that takes a full round.

2) You do not down an opponent when you coup de grace (he is already downed). Hence, you do not meet the conditions for performing a cleave.
 

Heh. Double post, straddling KarinsDad's (no, I'm not straddling KarinsDad, you pervs :) )

Andargor
 
Last edited:


Ok thanks all

The guy was HELD and "still standing."

The "blow of fat" (I like that misnomer of mine) dropped him way dead, and I allowed a PC to "cleave on" into another bad guy.

By the rules, I now see I was wrong, but I'd probably let it happen again.

Just because it made the player happy. I'm a sucker.
 

smetzger said:
No, Coup De Grace is a full round action, which means you can't do anything except he Coup De Grace.

This reason is invalid.

A Full Attack is a full round action, but it allows you to cleave.

A Coup De Grace allows you to do free actions.

As long as you meet the other criteria of a cleave, you can do a cleave, even with full round actions. In the case of Coup De Grace, you do not meet the criteria of it being an attack (you may or may not meet the criteria of downing an opponent depending on DM interpretation of "downing").
 

KarinsDad said:
Technically, you are not allowed to cleave for two reasons:

1) Coup de grace is not an attack action. It is a special action that takes a full round.

How does that mean that you don't "deal a creature enough damage to make it drop (typically by dropping it to below 0 hit points or killing it)"?

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
How does that mean that you don't "deal a creature enough damage to make it drop (typically by dropping it to below 0 hit points or killing it)"?

-Hyp.

It doesn't since you do.

Rather, I was referring to the other portion of Cleave that states:

"The extra attack is with the same weapon and at the same bonus as the attack that dropped the previous creature."

Coup De Grace is not listed as an attack. It does do damage. but it does not have an attack bonus. In order to do a cleave, the previous attack had to be an attack action with an attack bonus.


This is similar to the Power Attack while doing a Coup De Grace discussion. If you have no attack bonus, how do you shift BAB to damage?
 

KarinsDad said:
Coup De Grace is not listed as an attack. It does do damage. but it does not have an attack bonus. In order to do a cleave, the previous attack had to be an attack action with an attack bonus.

If an invisible creature performs a CDG, does it terminate his invisibility?

This is similar to the Power Attack while doing a Coup De Grace discussion. If you have no attack bonus, how do you shift BAB to damage?

Power Attack has two effects.

You suffer a penalty on all melee attack rolls, and you gain a bonus on all melee damage rolls.

Since CDG rolls damage with a melee weapon, it is a melee damage roll, and the bonus applies.

Any melee attack rolls you make in the round suffer a penalty.

Just because CDG doesn't require you to make an attack roll doesn't change the fact that you suffer a penalty to any you might make, and it doesn't change the fact that the melee damage roll of the CDG gains a bonus.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top