Storyteller01
First Post
This explains why i've never seen a ranged flaking SA build...
Hypersmurf said:It's fairly explicit.
"When making a melee attack, you get a +2 flanking bonus if your opponent is threatened by a character or creature friendly to you on the opponent’s opposite border or opposite corner."
When do you get a +2 Flanking bonus?
1. Is your opponent threatened by a character or creature?
If yes,
2. Is that character or creature friendly to you?
If yes,
3. Is that character or creature friendly to you on the opponent's opposite border or opposite corner?
If yes,
4. Are you making a melee attack?
If yes, you get a +2 Flanking bonus.
If you are not making a melee attack, condition 4 is not true, and you don't get a +2 Flanking bonus.
For the entirety of the round except for the part where you are making a melee attack, condition 4 is not true.
So, the 'where it says that' is in the Flanking section of the Combat chapter in the PHB.
-Hyp.
But Hypersmurf answered your question--take a look:TheEvil said:Though your words oft hold wisdom, I must respectfully disagree with you. That is simply when you get the bonus for flanking. It no more says that you are only flanking when you attack then the second paragraph says you only flank in melee.
Sledge said:Artoomis what you missed is that the Flanking bonus is only gained during their attack. Not during the whole round.
TheEvil said:Show me where it says that.
Rystil Arden said:So really, you may have just asked the wrong question there![]()
TheEvil said:Where is it written that you are only flanking during your attack?
--------
|......|
|.[color=red]h[/color][color=yellow]o[/color][color=white]@[/color]..[color=brown]+[/color]#
|......|#
|.[color=brown]G[/color][color=yellow]o[/color]..[color=green]@[/color]|#
|......|#
|......|#
|.[color=green]h[/color][color=yellow]o[/color]...|[color=white]d[/color]#
|......| ##
|......| ####
|......|
--------
Hypersmurf said:You're missing the point... using a whip to gain a flanking bonus is not an exception.
The rule is that you must make a melee attack, and your ally must threaten.
Starglim said:Krelios' quote makes it quite plain that you can neither receive a flanking bonus nor provide one to your ally using a ranged weapon.
Dimwhit said:I thought the main point of this thread was that you couldn't threat with a ranged weapon. I'm cool with your rule here. Sounds like we agree that you can't flanked with a ranged attack.
TheEvil said:To Hypersmurf: No. No. No. Doubt it.