Can you IA when you have a RA ?

Istar

First Post
If you have a readied action to take a standard or move action.
But before that trigger happens.

The enemy trigger an OA, or they trigger an Immediate Action.

Can you do this ?
Or do you have to pass it up, as you are readied to do something else.

If you can do the IA, does it then invalidate the RA ??
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It would make it impossible AFAIK to take your RA if you took an IA of some sort first, IIRC, but check the PHB section on that. It seems to me it is described as an immediate reaction. Been a while since I bothered to brush up on it though.
 

I usually play it that when a player readies an action, or holds their turn, that using an immediate interrupt or immediate reaction uses up that readied action/held turn, and adds them back into the initiative.
 

According to the Rules Compendium, pg 247, under "Ready an Action":

RC said:
...3. Immediate Reaction: Using a readied action is an immediate reaction, so it takes place right after the trigger finishes.

From pg 195, under "Immediate Actions":

RC said:
Once per Round: A creature can take only one immediate action per round, either an immediate interrupt or an immediate reaction...

So, yes, if you ready an action you can use an immediate action before your ready action triggers; however, this means you are no longer able to use your ready action (due to the fact that both are immediate actions).

On the other hand, AFAIK nothing prevents you from using an opportunity action without invalidating your readied action.
 

According to the Rules Compendium, pg 247, under "Ready an Action":



From pg 195, under "Immediate Actions":



So, yes, if you ready an action you can use an immediate action before your ready action triggers; however, this means you are no longer able to use your ready action (due to the fact that both are immediate actions).

On the other hand, AFAIK nothing prevents you from using an opportunity action without invalidating your readied action.

Okay that backs up where we were heading, what is AFAIK by the way ?
 




Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top