CAn you ride your own tensors floating disk?

Lodow MoBo said:
Really the subject say's it all. It is no earth shattering mechanic question. This a disagrement I've had with my DM. Personally I think it would be cool to ride around 2 feet off the ground.

Based on the discussion so far, it's obvious that your mage can if he thinks he can. Like so many things in magic, it's what you believe will happen when you cast the spell. That's why so many people never can learn to cast, in spite of high intel. And it's also the reason why magic users gain in power gradually. Some people are better at convincing themselves and the world that this "magic" effect will happen. As those people practice, they gain more and more faith in their own ability to manipulate reality, until they're calling down meteors from the sky or moving instantly from place to place, etc.

So, to answer your question, MY mage can. Only you can say if yours can or not.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

ARandomGod said:
Based on the discussion so far, it's obvious that your mage can if he thinks he can.
I should try this reasoning with my DM.

"But my paladin thinks he can grant himself a +5 bonus from Divine Favor, so he can!"

Somehow, I don't think the baddies will be impressed. :p
 


Lodow MoBo said:
Really the subject say's it all. It is no earth shattering mechanic question. This a disagrement I've had with my DM. Personally I think it would be cool to ride around 2 feet off the ground.

No. The 1st Ed. DMG had to have a note specifically saying "no" to this way back in 1979 (p. 45). Every version of D&D has gone through this cycle of players trying to ride on a disc.
 



My DMG doesn't have a quote saying it can't do that. Must be the authors decided it can now do that, since they took the restriction off. ^^
 


Personally, any rules I have to read from the imaginary page of rules that existed in previous editions and might still exist in some form now in a new imaginary page I'll just ignore.

The spell pretty much says you can, 'unless directed otherwise'. Nothing refutes this in the core.
 

Funny from 3rdedition.org, but true....



Tenser's Floating Munchkins

12/13/2001

Good and Wise Seer:

Subject: Tenser's Floating Disk

Question: The spell description says nothing about prohibiting the caster from standing on the disk himself, right? Therefore, a mage could use the Disk as a personal transportation device that would allow him to stand or sit on the disk travelling 3 ft above the surface and the mages normal speed. This means that said mage could travel across any type of terrain and normal speed....ie water, caltrop cover ground, etc. This seems an amazing use for the spell that I have not seen used in my group, a use that could avoid a lot of tactics to slow down a traveling party.

Have I missed a prohibition in the spell that would not allow this. Noting that the caster would have to be of sufficent level to lift his weight (100lbs/caster level). Thank You Good Sir


I recognize that you have humbly asked my verdict on this subject, but that does not mitigate the fact that you have considered allowing your players to push a 1st level spell beyond its limits. Therefore, you will humbly accept 40 lashes less 1 from the harsh whip of my disregard for abusive players and their co-dependent Dungeon Masters. Assume the position.

First, you will note from the description of the spell provides only one mode of movement for the disk: *following* the caster. The caster cannot push, pull, lift, depress, throw, row, drive, command, launch, sail, ski, or glide the disk. It follows. Your only option with this spell is determining how *closely* the disk follows you, thus the potentially confusing language: "If not otherwise directed, [the disk] maintains a constant interval of 5 feet". Yes, could perch upon the bowl of magical force, but you cannot move without stepping off. The rules do not even imply that Sorcerer Swami can use the disk as a slow, low-level form of floating. Pardon my French, but only a MUNCHKIN would attempt to bend the meaning of the rules text in this way.

So, my misintentioned supplicant, you should not allow this use of TFD in your game. I suppose there are uses for a static hovering platform, but they are fewer than you suspected. Heed my words, lest you suffer a multiplication of crunchy silver surfers in your campaign world. God and Agimimnon forbid!

-Agimimnon the Great, Shuddering from Implications P.S.: Just a blooding for you today. I suppose I've been in a good mood ever since my promotion. P.P.S.: The higher-ups passed down word that there is indeed a such thing as a post-postscript, and that I am allowed and expected to use them. When the higher-ups pass down word, it's usually not a good idea to disobey. How do you think I wound up having to do *this* job in the first place? In any case, I think they did it just to humiliate me further. Those of you combing aged articles from the 20th century in search of supposed errors can shut up now.
 

Remove ads

Top