Can you take an AoO while refocusing?

Barcode

First Post
Hmmm?

The rule (pg 134 PHB) says "do nothing for an entire round". Can't move, not even a 5 foot step, per the Sage. An attack of opportunity is not nothing, but similar wording has been placed around Total Defense and the official word in that case is that you can still take AoO's (albeit at a -4 penalty) if so provoked.

It came up last week, and my ruling was that the player could take the AoO, but he spoiled his refocus.

Thoughts?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

An AoO happens outside your normal turn.

If you are refocusing, then you have chosen to forego your normal action in order to act faster on the next round. It would have no effect on your ability to make an AoO.
 

Thoughts?

Forget Refocus ever existed, and let people Delay into the next round at the highest initiative they please. Go cyclic!

If you treat a Refocus like a Delay in this way, yes they get an AoO, but you haven't really taken your turn yet, so your AoOs haven't refreshed, and won't again until you go next round.

Example:
Init 19: Monster M draws AoO from our hero.
Init 15: Hero goes, starts delaying.
Init 12: Monster N draws AoO from our hero.
Init 25 (next round): Character stops delaying and takes action. Character tries to grapple Monster Q, who in turn tries to disarm--thus drawing an AoO from the character.

The character cannot take both AoOs against M and N (since Delaying itself is not an action and thus does not refresh AoOs), but can always take the AoO against Q.

If you follow the normal rules for Refocus, I imagine the character can take all three AoOs. It gets a little more weird if monster Q is the same monster as M or N, or both . . .

Not that you asked for this information of course ;)
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top