Sound of Azure
Contemplative Soul
cheshire_grin said:Sure they can. They just have to do so with a Dispel Magic.
I'd be willing to take that chance

cheshire_grin said:Sure they can. They just have to do so with a Dispel Magic.
srd said:Spell Descriptions:
Range:
Touch:
You must touch a creature or object to affect it. A touch spell that deals damage can score a critical hit just as a weapon can. A touch spell threatens a critical hit on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a successful critical hit. Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets. You can touch as many willing targets as you can reach as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell.
Spell Descriptions:
Duration:
Touch Spells and Holding the Charge:
In most cases, if you don’t discharge a touch spell on the round you cast it, you can hold the charge (postpone the discharge of the spell) indefinitely. You can make touch attacks round after round. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.
Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets as part of the spell. You can’t hold the charge of such a spell; you must touch all targets of the spell in the same round that you finish casting the spell.
Actions in Combat:
Standard Actions
Attack
Unarmed Attacks
"Armed" Unarmed Attacks
Sometimes a character’s or creature’s unarmed attack counts as an armed attack. A monk, a character with the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, a spellcaster delivering a touch attack spell, and a creature with natural physical weapons all count as being armed.
Note that being armed counts for both offense and defense (the character can make attacks of opportunity)
Actions in Combat:
Standard Actions:
Cast a Spell:
Holding the Charge:
If you don’t discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the discharge of the spell (hold the charge) indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren’t considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. (If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack.) If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.
Artoomis said:A few rules quotes will help:
My Conclusion:
Taken together, we see you can cast the spell whenever you want and "hold the charge" indefinitely, but, since you are threatening your opponent while "holding the charge," there is implied some sort of physical manifestation of the charge being held, else how could you be "armed" as described above?
Besides that, since "If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges," one can assume that if you attempt to "hold the charge" for any significant length of time at all, either you touch something accidentally or it rapidly becomes obvious you are going out of your way not to touch anything.
It's a DM's call, of course, but all the above should be kept in mind.
Vorput said:I always thought a monk with quivering palm would make the coolest assassin... shake the targets hand (rather hard perhaps), leave town, then 4 days later- target suddenly drops over dead. That == Awesome.