James McMurray
First Post
That's one viable interpretation. The other viable one is that you don't prevent it. In the absence of clear cut rules which describe how things work, we're stuck with Rule 0.
Bauglir said:My reference is the very passage you quoted.
"Immediately resolve the AoO, then continue with the character's turn.."
ie AoO gets resolved, THEN the triggering action takes place.
RigaMortus said:It was provoked in the midst of their turn, so we will complete that character's current turn... and assuming the trip was successful, that makes him fall back down. So he just expended his action to get up and can not do it again this turn.
That is true if you think about real life... but if you go by the rules, it doesn't speak of how a person is actually situated while prone... only that it is not standing and that it requires a move action of "standing up" to regain "standing" status. I could argue that moving past people who attacked you with normal AoO's would also interrupt the muscular action used to complete the maneuver. However, if the PC is still standing, he can continue his move after the AoO. The same holds true for standing up. If the person used a trip attempt, at the end of the trip attempt, the person would still be prone, which is the only requirement to use the "stand up" move action. so he could continue and be standing at the end of his move action.Korak said:So, the parrallel is this: if I threaten a square in which an opponent is trying to stand, he has spent a move action (stand from prone) and begun to stand when my AOO goes off. If I trip him, he ends up prone and unable to complete his move action (stand from prone) because he was at some point in the middle of regaining his footing and the muscular action used to complete that maneuver is no longer valid if he is again on the ground prone.
James McMurray said:Your "counters" are (IMO) crap.
Should the DM give every humanoid opponent the party faces some magic item or feat that allows them to avoid a rules loophole just so they don't have to spend the entire battle on their butts? Of course not. Just fix the hole and move on.