two
First Post
I'm already on record as saying if you trip somebody who is attempting to stand up, you are donig just that: tripping them while they are attempting to do something. If you mess up the "thing" they are attempting to do, that's too bad for them. They lost their chance to do it.
Spellcasting, for example.
Mage casts a spell next to a fighter. Fighter gets an AOO, does 50 points of damage. Ouch. By this reasoning of some above, the Wizard takes 50 points of damage, (which occurred before the spellcasting), and then gets to start and complete spellcasting, without a chance of failure.
Sorry, no.
Some actions provoke AOO's. They "provoke" them. The actions have started. Somebody is trying to accomplish something. Will they do it? Will they drink the potion, cast the spell, etc?
It depends on the AOO result.
If it does a lot of damage, the spell might be interrupted. How can this be if the AOO's always resolve BEFORE the action even began?
The potion drinking might be interrupted, forcing a concentration check. How can this be if the AOO was resolved BEFORE the action even began?
RESOLVING an AOO before the action is not the same as saying the AOO took place in game time before the action that provoked it. That's nonsensical.
It's just a game mechanical rule. You first RESOLVE the AOO. You could also RESOLVE the provoking action first, and then the AOO, but that would be a waste of player's time (because sometimes the fireball did not go off becasue the AOO hit and interrupted the spell, which was only determined after the spell damage was rolled -- this is a bad way to do things, but does not change the in-game effect at all, i.e. the spell failed).
How the heck do people ever stop spellcasters if they play that AOO's occur discretely before the provoking action? Do you always have to "ready" an action to interrupt spellcasters, that's the only way to do it?
Spellcasting, for example.
Mage casts a spell next to a fighter. Fighter gets an AOO, does 50 points of damage. Ouch. By this reasoning of some above, the Wizard takes 50 points of damage, (which occurred before the spellcasting), and then gets to start and complete spellcasting, without a chance of failure.
Sorry, no.
Some actions provoke AOO's. They "provoke" them. The actions have started. Somebody is trying to accomplish something. Will they do it? Will they drink the potion, cast the spell, etc?
It depends on the AOO result.
If it does a lot of damage, the spell might be interrupted. How can this be if the AOO's always resolve BEFORE the action even began?
The potion drinking might be interrupted, forcing a concentration check. How can this be if the AOO was resolved BEFORE the action even began?
RESOLVING an AOO before the action is not the same as saying the AOO took place in game time before the action that provoked it. That's nonsensical.
It's just a game mechanical rule. You first RESOLVE the AOO. You could also RESOLVE the provoking action first, and then the AOO, but that would be a waste of player's time (because sometimes the fireball did not go off becasue the AOO hit and interrupted the spell, which was only determined after the spell damage was rolled -- this is a bad way to do things, but does not change the in-game effect at all, i.e. the spell failed).
How the heck do people ever stop spellcasters if they play that AOO's occur discretely before the provoking action? Do you always have to "ready" an action to interrupt spellcasters, that's the only way to do it?