Can you use a feint to


log in or register to remove this ad

I don't think anything core has been written, but it can make a target flat-footed I don't see why not. Just becareful who you're getting to swing at you. :)
 

In a word, no.

All it does is " If your Bluff check result exceeds your target’s Sense Motive check result, the next melee attack you make against the target does not allow him to use his Dexterity bonus to AC (if any)."

Sorry, it's just not set up that way.

However, you could provoke an AoO a number of ways, if that is your intent. In fact, I see absolutley on reason at all you cannot take a move action to "leave yourself open" provoking an AoO. The rules don't quite technically allow for this, but it certainly makes sense. You could, in the alternative, do any number of AoO-provoking actions.

Now if what you are asking is if you can somehow bluff your opponent into thinking you have left your defenses down when you have not so that he makes an AoO but it is automtically ineffective (assuming has makes the AoO), then no, you can't do that, though it makes for an interesting feat concept.
 


I let spellcasters feint to make people think they're casting spells, causing enemies to waste counterspells, readied actions, and attacks of opportunity. In your situation, the guy would still get to attack you. I mean, it might be useful if you wanted to make him hit you before you started casting a spell instead of during.

What use were you thinking of?
 


Sithobi1 said:
Why not just walk into him(move into his space)? It's a move action and provokes...
Actually, i don't believe the rules let you do that other than during specified manuevers.

I say No just in case there is some way to get a bluff as a free action. You could, in the alternative, do any number of AoO-provoking actions, moving, or using an attack manuever that draws an AoO. Those often have aditional concequences.
 


Sithobi1 said:
Of course you can do that. You just can't end your turn in his space without something like Grapple.

Opponent: You can’t move through a square occupied by an opponent, unless the opponent is helpless. You can move through a square occupied by a helpless opponent without penalty. (Some creatures, particularly very large ones, may present an obstacle even when helpless. In such cases, each square you move through counts as 2 squares.)

Ending Your Movement: You can’t end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.


So if you enter his space, you are prohibited from a/ stopping, and b/ leaving his space, since that would result in having 'moved through' his space.

Thus, entering his square would cause a paradox, and must be prohibited.

-Hyp.
 

Odysseus said:
My thinking was more along the lines of bluff. Also the target doesn't have to take the AOO.

Are you trying to avoid having to use up an action to do this? If not, I'd certainly allow you to use a move action and automatically open yourself up for an AoO. Even if you don't actually move. There are any number of things you could do using a move action if you wanted to that would provoke an AoO, so I see no reason at all not to let you simply declare, "I am deliberately opening myself up for an AoO."

You do not even need to bluff.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top