Can you use a feint to

Hypersmurf said:
Opponent: You can’t move through a square occupied by an opponent, unless the opponent is helpless. You can move through a square occupied by a helpless opponent without penalty. (Some creatures, particularly very large ones, may present an obstacle even when helpless. In such cases, each square you move through counts as 2 squares.)

Ending Your Movement: You can’t end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.


So if you enter his space, you are prohibited from a/ stopping, and b/ leaving his space, since that would result in having 'moved through' his space.

Thus, entering his square would cause a paradox, and must be prohibited.

-Hyp.

Well, technically, if you enter and exit a square from the same side have you actually moved through it? I don't think so.

Not that it matter one whit for the topic at hand.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Artoomis said:
Well, technically, if you enter and exit a square from the same side have you actually moved through it? I don't think so.

So would you permit a character to enter an opponent's square and leave from the same side?

For example, we have a five foot corridor, with a wizard at the end... between you and the wizard is his bodyguard.

You use Spring Attack to enter the bodyguard's square, smack the wizard with your longsword, and exit the bodyguard's square from the same side.

Possible?

-Hyp.
 

My inital thinking was to get the target to use up its AOO , so that a action like sunder or grapple etc could be used against the target, not neccessairly by the bluff character, without causing an AOO. And because the target has the option of taking or not taking the bluff . The effect is limited.
 


Odysseus said:
My inital thinking was to get the target to use up its AOO , so that a action like sunder or grapple etc could be used against the target, not neccessairly by the bluff character, without causing an AOO.
I'd allow the move action to provoke, but not a free action. You could do any of the following:

1. Drop prone (free), stand up (provokes).
2. Move around him (but then you cannot also take a 5ft-step).
3. Drop your weapon and pick it up again.
4. Pick up a rock from the floor, or a piece of lint.
5. Retrieve a rock from your pouch that you keep there (and a lot more) for just this purpose, then drop the rock. After combat, pick up all your rocks.
6. Probably many more examples...

Requiring any of the above just doesn't seem like fun. So, I'd allow it.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
I'd allow the move action to provoke, but not a free action. You could do any of the following:

1. Drop prone (free), stand up (provokes).

Remember, per CAdv, with a DC35 Tumble check, you can stand up as a free action that provokes.

Alternatively, carry around a light crossbow and take the Rapid Reload feat. Provoke as a free action all day long!

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
For example, we have a five foot corridor, with a wizard at the end... between you and the wizard is his bodyguard.

You use Spring Attack to enter the bodyguard's square, smack the wizard with your longsword, and exit the bodyguard's square from the same side.

Possible?

-Hyp.
No. You cannot end your movement in an opponents square. It does not say end the turn, it says end movement. You start moving, end moving. Attack. Start moving, end moving. Since the first 'end moving' is in an opponents square, it is not allowed.

This rule notwithstanding, would you allow someone to move into a friendly square, attack, and them move out?
 

Coredump said:
No. You cannot end your movement in an opponents square. It does not say end the turn, it says end movement. You start moving, end moving. Attack. Start moving, end moving. Since the first 'end moving' is in an opponents square, it is not allowed.

Well, judging by the section 'movement in combat', the term 'movement' doesn't seem to refer to a single move action within your turn, but rather to all movement performed in your turn.

So if you move, attack, move, your 'movement' isn't over until after the second move action.

Otherwise, let's take an example of a character moving 60 feet down a corridor - two move actions - and passing through a friend's square on the way. If the friend is 25 feet down the corridor, no problem. If the friend is 30 feet down the corridor, however, one move action ends in his square, before the next move action starts. Is the character prevented from doing this, then, since his movement ends in a square occupied by a non-helpless creature (before resuming)?

This rule notwithstanding, would you allow someone to move into a friendly square, attack, and them move out?

Sure, with Spring Attack - they're moving through a square occupied by a friendly character.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
So would you permit a character to enter an opponent's square and leave from the same side?

For example, we have a five foot corridor, with a wizard at the end... between you and the wizard is his bodyguard.

You use Spring Attack to enter the bodyguard's square, smack the wizard with your longsword, and exit the bodyguard's square from the same side.

Possible?

-Hyp.

I'd rule (hell, I suggested ruling this way to our DM last Sunday when it came up) that you can do it, but that both allies would be considered "squeezed" until their next turn.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Well, judging by the section 'movement in combat', the term 'movement' doesn't seem to refer to a single move action within your turn, but rather to all movement performed in your turn.

So if you move, attack, move, your 'movement' isn't over until after the second move action.

...
-Hyp.

Whoa. I don't think so. You cannot (without a feat) split your movement to before and after an attack.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top