log in or register to remove this ad

 

D&D 5E Can you use mage hand on the turn you summon it?

ECMO3

Adventurer
It is an action to summon a mage hand and an action to use it. Can I do both of these things on the turn it is summoned or does that need to be spread over 2 turns?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

ReshiIRE

Adventurer
I would say by RAW no. It doesn't mention being able to move the hand when you summon it. Compare this to Bigby's Hand, which states that:

When you cast the spell and as a bonus action on your subsequent turns, you can move the hand up to 60 feet and then cause one of the following effects with it.

This mainly seems to limit Mage Hand's utility in combat.
 

I would say by RAW no.
It would seem that way RAW, but I've always allowed players to cast and use it in the same action. This seems rules as intended but poorly worded maybe? Then again Ive never given a whole lot of thought and just figured thats how it worked. Is that how it worked in previous editions, ICR?
 

Jmarso

Explorer
I concur with no by RAW. Furthermore, it's a cantrip. Let's not be too generous with it's usefulness and utility. Man oh man, but cantrips are a whole different animal now than they were back when they were first introduced in 1E/2E.
 


Dausuul

Legend
Of course, it's a non-concentration cantrip with a 1-minute duration. So if you're in a dangerous area and not trying to be stealthy (i.e., you've got some heavily armored folks along), you might as well keep a mage hand up at all times.
 

aco175

Legend
The arcane trickster has a more powerful mage hand it can use. It has a few cool powers that say the mage can use its bonus action to control the hand for things like pick pockets and open locks, as well as distracting bad guys for advantage. So it would seem that you cannot unless you are an AT.

In my game I would likely let you for general things like cast it and have it carry a torch or pick up something off a table. Maybe not combat related, not sure.
 

Mort

Legend
It costs an action to cast and it costs an action to control so absolutely not. Unless Arcane Trickster - then yes because controlling it, for you, is a bonus action.

I suppose an Eldritch Knight could also do it at the cost of an action surge, but that seems a bit steep except for exceptional circumstances. I'd probably allow an EK to cast and then control the hand with a bonus action, as part of War Magic - but that's clearly not RAW.
 

as well as distracting bad guys for advantage. So it would seem that you cannot unless you are an AT.
Where does it say you can use it to distract for advantage? I just checked my phb 10th print and I cant find it. As for the bonus action I'd say it would allow you to use it twice if you chose.
 



Stormonu

Legend
Use in the same turn you cast it, does not make any sort of sense to me that you wouldn't.

I've never seen someone use it in combat, there's usually more dangerous things being hurled about.
 

Use in the same turn you cast it, does not make any sort of sense to me that you wouldn't.

I've never seen someone use it in combat, there's usually more dangerous things being hurled about.
I think its an oversight and poirly written. I agree, why wouldnt you, why shouldnt you be able to use it after casting. Its not that powerful a spell and pretty much useless in combat.
 

Given that it is primarily a non-combat cantrip, two actions being necessary to cast and subsequently operate mage hand is not at all unreasonable. And, in most non-combat cases, irrelevant that it takes 12 seconds vs 6 seconds to actually do something with it.
 

ECMO3

Adventurer
Use in the same turn you cast it, does not make any sort of sense to me that you wouldn't.

I've never seen someone use it in combat, there's usually more dangerous things being hurled about.
I use it in combat with an Arcane Trickster all the time, usually as a bonus action.

Dumping a flask of oil before you attack with Green Flame blade, pouring holy water, using caltrops, ball bearings, hunting traps and most of all stealing things like an arcane focus or a weapon from an enemy if they are not holding it.

The actual situation where this came up was prompted by an AT Rogue with the fey touched feat who used hex as a bonus action and hexed wisdom. I could not sneak attack because I won initiative and had to move. What I wanted to do was cast the hand and then take the enemies melee weapon, which I could have tried without the Hex (action cast - BA SOH), but with the hex I could give him disadvantage on his wisdom check making it more likely to be successful.
 

Not by RAW, but RAW has it as a literal hand you call into being that does stuff instead of just being minor telekinesis. So I feel RAW can be safely ignored when it comes to mage hand.
 

Level Up!

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top