Casting Touch attack spells - a querry?

Sidekick

First Post
Hi, my games resident Rules Lawyer recently informed me that the rules say that a character can cast a touch spell such as Shocking grasp out of melee, then move into melee and then as a free action touch their opponent to discharge the spell.

Now I'm not too sure about this rule so I thought I'd ask you guys here.

To me the way it should work is

A) cast spell out of melee (standard action)
then
B) walk into melee (move action)
Then next round
C)makes a melee touch attack that delivers the spell if it hits. (standard action).

So which one is correct?

Thank you Enworlders. :)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You can cast, move, touch in the same round...

Touch Spells in Combat
Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject, either in the same round or any time later. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) the target. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll.
 

also if you are 5' away from your opponent, you can cast the spell, take a five foot step and make the attempted touch attack.

If you do not touch your opponent, the spell is still 'held' until you do touch someone.

be careful if you are the cleric and have an undischarged Inflict Serious wounds on when you go to pat your compatiot on the back for a job well done.
 

So

if they have a spell charged in their hand, then they need to close in and make a touch attack.

But its as a free action? Or should the touch attack be a swift action?
 

Sidekick said:
if they have a spell charged in their hand, then they need to close in and make a touch attack.

But its as a free action? Or should the touch attack be a swift action?
You are confusing "Holding the Charge" and touching as part of the casting. You can cast then move then touch in one turn. If you fail to touch, then you are Holding the Charge and can try again the following round (or perhaps as an AoO) as an attack (at least a standard action).
 

Ahh right.

I wish I'd known this back when it was ME playing the walking artillery platform. Jeez that would have made those shocking grasps that much more useful.

Thanks all for the clarifications. I just wanted to make sure that my resident Rules-lawyer hadn't got a rule slightly wrong.

Peace out & happy gaming.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top