Casting touch spells

daemonslye

First Post
Just a quick clarification:

Can you cast a touch spell (standard action) then
move up to a foe (move action) and touch them (uhhh?)
in one round?

Or do you:

Move up to your foe (move action) defensively cast
your touch spell and touch them (standard action?).

If you are using a 5' step as your move action, does
this affect anything above?

If you get multiple attacks (due to high BAB), can you get
multiple touch attempts (on a round you get a full round
action - presumably after you cast the spell)?

Thanks

~D
 

log in or register to remove this ad

either (PH 125)

you can even hold the touch spell indefinitely


i believe if you take a 5' step, you can't take any other moves

and, yes, you could make multiplt touch attacks with a high-enough BAB and the right spell (like Chill Touch)
 
Last edited:

Multiple touch attacks with a Full Attack action? Absolutely!

In fact, when you've a touch spell primed, DO NOT HELP A FRIEND REGAIN HIS BALANCE. That "helping hand" ... will discharge the touch spell into your friend. 8P hehehe.
 

Cast a spell = standard action
Touch attack = standard action

You can however cast a touch spell AND deliver the touch attack with the same standard action. If you deliver the touch attack later (or if you miss the 1st touch attack and you try another one) it is a standard action.
If you have BAB 6+ you can make several touch attacks as a full-round action. If the touch spell is harmless/beneficial, you can touch up to 6 friends as a full-round action (you don't do touch attacks, since they WANT to be touched).

So IMO it can be these ways:

1. cast & touch in the same action + move-equivalent action

2. cast only + MEA (touch in next round)

3. (cast in previous round) touch only + MEA

4. (cast in previous round) multiple touch + 5ft step

If you separate casting & touch-attacking with even a 5ft step, they are both standard actions, and can't go in the same turn. Probably?
 

I agree with Li Shenron, lock, stock, and barrel. The ability to attack in the same round you cast the Touch-delivered spell is *part* of the act of CASTING that spell. Thus, you have to move before or after, but not between, casting-and-delivering.
 

Li Shenron said:
If you separate casting & touch-attacking with even a 5ft step, they are both standard actions, and can't go in the same turn. Probably?
You can move in between the casting and the touch, according to PH, page 125, Touch Spells in Combat, fourth sentence. This is an exception to the normal standard action rules.
 

Remove ads

Top