Casting while moving??

Jcosby

First Post
Ok, I hope this is a simple question. I’m fairly new to the 3.5 rules and I couldn’t find any clarification for this question in the books (Although I’m sure it’s there and I just missed it.)



My question is this. Can a PC start casting a spell pause when the target is to be determined, move (At all..5ft, more etc.), then target the spell and finish?



Here is the issue we had. A 3rd level Cleric PC wanted to cast a Cure Light Wounds on another PC. The Cleric was 5 feet away from the target and he was not in a threatened square. If however, the cleric was to move within touch range of the target he would have to move into a threatened square. He then would have to cast while being threatened. What he wanted to do was cast the cure light wounds, hold the spell, take a 5ft step and then touch the target finishing the spell.



In my short time of reading 3.5 rules I’ve never seen anything about this. Can someone please clear this up for me? Either quote the text or please point me to the proper page/book.



Thank you

Jeff Cosby

 

log in or register to remove this ad

Jcosby said:
Ok, I hope this is a simple question. I’m fairly new to the 3.5 rules and I couldn’t find any clarification for this question in the books (Although I’m sure it’s there and I just missed it.)



My question is this. Can a PC start casting a spell pause when the target is to be determined, move (At all..5ft, more etc.), then target the spell and finish?



Here is the issue we had. A 3rd level Cleric PC wanted to cast a Cure Light Wounds on another PC. The Cleric was 5 feet away from the target and he was not in a threatened square. If however, the cleric was to move within touch range of the target he would have to move into a threatened square. He then would have to cast while being threatened. What he wanted to do was cast the cure light wounds, hold the spell, take a 5ft step and then touch the target finishing the spell.



In my short time of reading 3.5 rules I’ve never seen anything about this. Can someone please clear this up for me? Either quote the text or please point me to the proper page/book.



Thank you

Jeff Cosby

Welcome!

It's called holding the spell... you cast the whole thing... move and touch your target all in one round.


Mike
 

But the cleric won't be able to get off the maneuver the player wants without givingup an AoO (Attack of Opportunity).

A character can cast and then move or move and then cast. He can only take a 5 ft step if he does no other movement - touching a fallen character to use the spell is a move equiv action and can't be combined with a 5ft step. Also since the character is ignoring the foe when performing this move he gives up an AoO.

That is why clerics wear armor so they can take the hit, or have a fighter move up and take the AoO and the cleric move in last to deliver the spell.

A character normally only gets 1 AoO per round so if it is used up on someone else (who can take the hit) then the character delivering the spell gets off lightly. Note that the fallen character generates an AoO when standing so there maybe another one coming in the next round.

The description of the act being performed is closest tot eh making a dying friend stable from table 8-2.
 

irdeggman said:
But the cleric won't be able to get off the maneuver the player wants without givingup an AoO (Attack of Opportunity).

A character can cast and then move or move and then cast. He can only take a 5 ft step if he does no other movement - touching a fallen character to use the spell is a move equiv action and can't be combined with a 5ft step. Also since the character is ignoring the foe when performing this move he gives up an AoO.
Where is THAT written...

the correct way is...

SRD said:
Touch Spells in Combat: Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject, either in the same round or any time later. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) the target. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll.
Mike
 

mikebr99 said:
Where is THAT written...

the correct way is...

Mike

Ok, that is perfect I now know he can cast then move then touch. But I have two more questions just to clear up what was posted.

If he moves to the target using only a 5ft step he does not create an Attack of Opportunity, but does the touching of the target while you are in a threatened square cause an attack of opportunity? Does the position of the target make a difference? Ex. Standing, or Prone.

Thank you
Jeff Cosby
 

Jcosby said:
Ok, that is perfect I now know he can cast then move then touch. But I have two more questions just to clear up what was posted.

If he moves to the target using only a 5ft step he does not create an Attack of Opportunity, but does the touching of the target while you are in a threatened square cause an attack of opportunity? Does the position of the target make a difference? Ex. Standing, or Prone.

Thank you
Jeff Cosby
No, delivering a touch spell, already cast does not provoke an AoO.

And no... touching a prone person doesn't provoke an AoO either.


Mike
 

Jeff,

First of all, on behalf of our community, welcome to the Forums! I hope you keep coming back.

Second, I believe mikebr99 is correct, as near as I can tell. However, I feel compelled to re-iterate it's not because of the suggestion in your question. A caster can't cast, move and THEN pick a target - a wizard couldn't cast fireball, move 30 feet, then then detonate. Instead, The cleric can do this because it's a touch spell, and a little known feature of touch spells (as mike quoted) is "holding the charge." Same thing with shocking grasp, harm, etc.

Good luck, and good gaming!
 

None of the above.

You can cast the spell in a non-threatened area, walk up to your buddy, and discharge the spell on your buddy.

Note that your movement may provoke an AoO - like if you had to move past a couple bad guys to get to your buddy.

In the event of a 5' step, it never provokes an AoO for movement.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
None of the above.

You can cast the spell in a non-threatened area, walk up to your buddy, and discharge the spell on your buddy.

Note that your movement may provoke an AoO - like if you had to move past a couple bad guys to get to your buddy.
It's the moving out of threatened squares that provokes the AoOs...
Patryn of Elvenshae said:
In the event of a 5' step, it never provokes an AoO for movement.
If you are in an area where movement costs more then normal... then moving 5 feet does provoke an AoO.


Mike
 

Welcome to the boards!

I'll add another bit here as well, although Mikebr99 has answered your questions. This is a bit outside your question. A caster could also cast a spell, move only 5', and still have a move action left to take. Now it's important to note that the move action cannot be moving further. But the caster could do other things like opening a door or drawing/sheathing a weapon.

************************

Just an FYI, and this is outside the core rules, so you can decide if you want to play with it or not. There is a feat within Complete Arcane that I think is called Mobile Spellcasting. It allows you to move your movement and cast a spell as a standard action. But you are forced to make a DC 20 + spell level Concentration check.

I hope it was helpful!
 

Remove ads

Top