Catching on fire rules ... contradictions?

for reference

From the srd:

Alchemist's Fire: Alchemist's fire is a sticky, adhesive substance that ignites when exposed to air. Throw a flask of alchemist's fire as a grenadelike weapon.
On the round following a direct hit, the target takes an additional 1d6 points of damage. The target can take a full-round action to attempt to extinguish the flames before taking this additional damage. It takes a successful Reflex saving throw (DC 15) to extinguish the flames. Rolling on the ground allows the character a +2 bonus. Leaping into a lake or magically extinguishing the flames automatically smothers the flames.

Weapon* Cost Direct Hit Splash Increment Weight
------- ---- ---------- ------ --------- ------

Alchemist's fire
(flask) 20 gp 1d6 1 pt** 10 ft. 1 1/4 lb.

Catching on Fire

Characters at risk of catching fire are allowed a Reflex saving throw (DC 15) to avoid this fate. If a character's clothes or hair catch fire, he takes 1d6 points of damage immediately. In each subsequent round, the burning character must make another Reflex saving throw. Failure means he takes another 1d6 points of damage that round. Success means that the fire has gone out. (That is, once he succeeds at his saving throw, he's no longer on fire.)
A character on fire may automatically extinguish the flames by jumping into enough water to douse himself. If no body of water is at hand, rolling on the ground or smothering the fire with cloaks or the like permits the character another save with a +4 bonus.
Those unlucky enough to have their clothes or equipment catch fire must make Reflex saving throws (DC 15) for each item. Flammable items that fail sustain the same amount of damage as the character.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I think the alchemists fire only burns for 2 rounds doing 1d6 each round then it has burned itself out. It can cause things to catch on fire which would then follow the normal on fire rules but that is separate from how long the alchemists fire oil takes to burn out. For instance throwing a flask on an unconscious dragon the dragon will take 2 rounds of fire damage as the oil burns itself out, but there is nothing there to catch fire so that is the end of it. Now do that with a wizard in a robe and you have started a sustainable fire.
 

So, do I have this right...?

1) on his turn, A throws Alchemist's Fire on B. B immediately takes 1d6 fire damage

2) on B's turn, he can take a full-round action to attempt to extinguish the AF. Reflex save DC 15, rolling on the ground only gives a +2 bonus. Take 1d6 fire damage if failed.

3) on B's next turn, the AF has burnt out, but his clothes may catch fire. Unclear whether a full-round action is needed to extinguish. Reflex save DC 15, rolling on the ground gives a +4 bonus. Take 1d6 fire damage if failed.
 

more troll

"Twice damage? You mean it takes 2d6 damage on the second round?"
No
That's just because we tried to coupe de grace the troll with the Alchemist's fire. Normally it is just 1d6 per round.

But what if the argument is that a troll don’t use close. Therefore I cant “catch on fire”?

From a logic point of view that is correct. Living flesh doesn’t just burst into flames and burn. It takes a lot of “fuel” to burn a whole body.


Tabula
----
Yes the trolls were beaten up real bad. So it no problem, despite there suite to ignite and then watch them burn...
 

So it seems the main diff between being on fire from Alchemist's Fire or burning oil, and the normal "catching on fire" is that (a) it takes a full round action to extinguish, and (b) you only get a +2 to your save from rolling on the ground.
 

Conaill

Think of it this way, it is tougher to put out napalm than a burning cloak.

For the alchemists fire it does not last long but it is tougher to put out.
 


I am unconvinced that Alchemist's Fire sets clothes on fire. (Rulewise speaking -- obviously it could in real life.)

As I read it, Alchemist's Fire does up to d6 damage total. It does not day anything about catching clothes on fire.
 

Burning Hands has the following passage: "Flammable materials such as cloth, paper, parchment and thin wood burn if the flames touch them. A character can extinguish burning items as a full-round action."

I would tend towards the view that this does not apply to attended objects. Otherwise you will get argument about Burning Hands or Fireball burning up all the arrows in a party. Or everyone's beard and/or hair catching fire.
 
Last edited:

Originally posted by Ridley's Cohort
I am unconvinced that Alchemist's Fire sets clothes on fire.
Check the very first post in this thread (or your own DMG). The SRD doesn't have the full language:
Originally posted by Malin Genie
The Catching on Fire section in the DMG (p86) suggests that characters exposed to "burning oil, bonfires, and noninstantaneous magic fires such as wall of fire might find their clothes, hair, or equipment on fire
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top