CDG on regenerating creatures

Grog

First Post
The rules say that a regenerating creature that has been knocked out with subdual damage can be killed by a coup de grace attack. The CDG attack may not be of a damage type that automatically converts to subdual damage.

This is a bit vague. If you CDG an unconscious troll with a flaming sword, would that have a chance to kill it? Would all the damage count for the CDG Fort save, or just the 1d6 fire damage? How about a torch? Would that work for a CDG on a troll?

I'm asking this because I don't see how you can do a CDG attack with a damage type other than physical - and if you can't, the CDG rule for regenerating creatures will never apply.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Grog said:
If you CDG an unconscious troll with a flaming sword, would that have a chance to kill it? Would all the damage count for the CDG Fort save, or just the 1d6 fire damage?

Only the fire damage, as that is the only damage type, aside from acid, that is lethal to a troll.

Grog said:
I'm asking this because I don't see how you can do a CDG attack with a damage type other than physical...

Any touch spell that requires an attack roll and deals fire or acid will do it.
 
Last edited:


Kraedin said:
Any melee touch spell that deals fire or acid damage.

Ayup. My sorcerer was disappointed to learn that his Melf's Acid Arrow couldn't be used to finish off a troll. Fortunately, the druid had Flame Blade prepared ...
 




Any melee touch spell that deals fire or acid damage.

See, that's the thing - I've seen people talk about using Alchemist's Fire for CDG on a troll numerous times, but it's a ranged weapon. As is a vial of acid.

And a CDG with a torch is... well, pretty wimpy.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:


See, that's the thing - I've seen people talk about using Alchemist's Fire for CDG on a troll numerous times, but it's a ranged weapon. As is a vial of acid.

And a CDG with a torch is... well, pretty wimpy.

-Hyp.

Well, I've always allowed a CDG with ranged weapons in my game. It may be a house rule, but doing it the other way makes sense. I mean, how is the troll supposed to survive have a vial of acid poured onto its head so that it burns directly through its brain?

(Actaually, I know that in 2e trolls didn't die when they were decapitated, but I'm not sure if 3e mentions this. None the less, a ranged weapon used point blank against a completely helpless foe should be just as devestating as a melee weapon.)
 

None the less, a ranged weapon used point blank against a completely helpless foe should be just as devestating as a melee weapon.

Bows and crossbows are. (Well, almost.)

But they're exceptions.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top