Charge - To nearest square? Huh?

Ninja-to

First Post
After reading the rules on (PHB 287) it's not clear if you can 'zig zag' around things and then finally attack. That doesn't seem like a charge to me but that's how it seems to be written. It looks like all that matters is the closest square isn't occupied.

----x----
---a-----
----- ----
---- -----
-0-------

Let's say you're '0' and the enemy is 'x'. You go through the spaces between the dashes to get to 'a' because 'a' is the closest square to you.

Is this correct? I guess playing the 'straight line' version from 3.x has me confused. It seems like now, you're allowed to run around the battlefield, but rather oddly, the nearest square between you and your enemy ('a' above) must be empty.

That seems really weird to me, but that's what I'm getting from the RAW. I think I'm missing something here.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You have to move directly to the closest square--i.e. the fewest number of squares of movement. The spacing in your diagram is hard to make out, but it looks like your suggested route is 4 squares, while moving straight up gets you there in three squares. If I'm reading your diagram right, then no, you couldn't charge like that because there's a shorter route available.
 

'a', and the two squares to the right are all the same distance in 4e and valid squares to end your charge. 'straight' lines arn't a requirement anymore as long as you get closer with each step of the charge. The move action before the charge, could go in any direction, sometimes to shift back to the required 2 square minimum to charge.
 

Sorry my diagram sucks I know.

I didn't realize that it works as long as you get 'closer'. I thought it had to be 'the closest square,' but in 4E and some weird math that might mean the same thing.

Brain hurts and it's late.
 

After reading the rules on (PHB 287) it's not clear if you can 'zig zag' around things and then finally attack.
Depends on how the DM want to reads the words "must move directly to".
4Ephb Charge said:
Movement Requirements: You must move at least 2 squares from your starting position, and you must move directly to the nearest square from which you can attack the enemy. You can’t charge if the nearest square is occupied. Moving over difficult terrain costs extra squares of movement as normal.
It seems like now, you're allowed to run around the battlefield, but rather oddly, the nearest square between you and your enemy ('a' above) must be empty.

That seems really weird to me, but that's what I'm getting from the RAW. I think I'm missing something here.
Basically the rules for charging care more where you end up and are vague on the rest rather than spending a paragraph or three on how to model "You throw yourself into the fight, dashing forward and launching an attack" with a 1-1-1-1 square grid. Since each square counts as one, some really screwy charge paths are possible unless the DM wants to break out a piece of string.

4onicgf5.png
 

Wow! Nice diagram!!!!

The only problem is it doesn't exactly answer my question. I want to know if you must move in a direct line to the target, or are you able to move around obstacles? It says 'must move directly to' but it also says something like the 'nearest possible' squre. It's rather confusing.
 


Wow! Nice diagram!!!!

The only problem is it doesn't exactly answer my question. I want to know if you must move in a direct line to the target, or are you able to move around obstacles? It says 'must move directly to' but it also says something like the 'nearest possible' squre. It's rather confusing.
That's why i said:
"Since each square counts as one, some really screwy charge paths are possible unless the DM wants to break out a piece of string."
 

It gets even more confusing....

charging.jpg


Movement Requirements: You must move at least 2 squares from your starting position, and you must
move directly to the nearest square from which you can attack the enemy. You can’t charge if the nearest
square is occupied.
Moving over difficult terrain costs extra squares of movement as normal.

In this case can the Fighter (F) charge gnoll (2)?

Is the nearest square he could attack the gnoll the one the dwarf is in, or because the dwarf is in it, you cannot stop in that square to attack the gnoll from it, so the nearest square is actually the one above it.

Technically if the nearest square is occupied it isn't the nearest square.

If he can, is it possible to he do so, avoiding an OA from gnoll (1)?
 
Last edited:

In this case can the Fighter (F) charge gnoll (2)?

Is the nearest square he could attack the gnoll the one the dwarf is in, or because the dwarf is in it, you cannot stop in that square to attack the gnoll from it, so the nearest square is actually the one above it.

Technically if the nearest square is occupied it isn't the nearest square.
No, he could not charge gnoll 2, not even in 4E. {unless he had a reach weapon IIRC] Thing is I do believe all distances in 4E are measured by the 1-1-1-1 movement, so some really silly charges are possible.

reachingbb7.jpg
guiltyaste1.png
 

Remove ads

Top