Charging and AoO's

Storyteller01

First Post
I'm slightly confused. The rules say that a charge doesn't generate an AoO. However, I'm hearing that the charge is a separate action from the movement of the charge. Supposedly, the movement from charging still generates an AoO.

Is this true?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Storyteller01 said:
I'm slightly confused. The rules say that a charge doesn't generate an AoO. However, I'm hearing that the charge is a separate action from the movement of the charge. Supposedly, the movement from charging still generates an AoO.

Is this true?
Yes.

If charging in and of it self had an "AoO: Yes" then the person you were charging would get an AoO as soon as you entered their threatened area. It woulds be like everyone had Hold The Line.

Charge
Charging is a special full-round action that allows you to move up to twice your speed and attack during the action. However, it carries tight restrictions on how you can move.


The AoOs that occur during a charge crop up due to "Moving out of a threatened square"
 
Last edited:

Check footnote 1 on Table 8-2:
1 Regardless of the action, if you move out of a threatened square, you usually provoke an attack of opportunity. This column indicates whether the action itself, not moving, provokes an attack of opportunity.

The charge action does not provoke an AoO. However, if in the course of that charge action, you move out of a threatened square, an AoO is provoked.

-Hyp.
 

frankthedm said:
Yes.

If charging in and of it self had an "AoO: Yes" then the person you were charging would get an AoO as soon as you entered their threatened area.

Charge
Charging is a special full-round action that allows you to move up to twice your speed and attack during the action. However, it carries tight restrictions on how you can move.


That's how the other person is running it, as I understand it. Since the movement brought them into the threatened area, they get the AoO.

An example from the other team (so to speak): a creature charges you while you have a reach weapon. You get the AoO when it enters your threatened area.


PS: I can understand AoO's from other sources, but I was under the impression that your target doesn't get the AoO.
 

Storyteller01 said:
That's how the other person is running it, as I understand it. Since the movement brought them into the threatened area, they get the AoO.

An example from the other team (so to speak): a creature charges you while you have a reach weapon. You get the AoO when it enters your threatened area.
You get the AoO as it moves out of that first threatened square.
 




Storyteller01 said:
That's how the other person is running it, as I understand it. Since the movement brought them into the threatened area, they get the AoO.

An example from the other team (so to speak): a creature charges you while you have a reach weapon. You get the AoO when it enters your threatened area.

Are you certain the opponent doesn't have the Hold the Line feat - which explicitly grants an AoO if a foe runs or charges into a square you threaten?

PS: I can understand AoO's from other sources, but I was under the impression that your target doesn't get the AoO.

You may be thinking of the Spring Attack feat.

If I have a longspear and you charge at me, I don't get an AoO when you enter the square ten feet from me (unless I have the Hold the Line feat), but I do get one when you leave that square to close that last five feet, because you're moving out of a square I threaten.

Charge, unlike Spring Attack, provides no immunity to movement-based AoOs.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top