Circle kick

Here is what I did in my campaign:

Circle Kick [General]

Prerequisites: Base Attack Bonus + 3, Improved Unarmed Strike, Combat Reflexes

Affect: When, on a full-attack action, the character makes a successful unarmed strike, he gains an attack of opportunity (at the same base attack bonus as the attack which just hit) against a second foe that he threatens. He may not take a 5' step before the attack of opportunit. All normal rules for attacks of opportunity (such as only 1 per target per round, and limited number) apply. If the character has multiple attacks, and has 2 or more foes within an area that he threatens, then he may use this feat on more than 1 attack in a single round, but still may not use more than one attack of opportunity against any single target.

Hope you like it, in my opinion (and those of my players) it is not too broken, and actually is worth taking, if you qualify.

The Grand Master Arminas
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Given what plane sailing said about the actual uses of a circle kick, what about completely reworking it to read like this:

Circle Kick
Prerequisites: BAB +3, Improved Disarm

The character may knock aside an opponent's shield or melee or natural weapon. To do so, the character must make a touch attack against the opponent and then succeed at an opposed strength check. Doing so does not provoke an attack of opporunity. [note that this opposed strength check would not be modified by size of weaponry; this makes using this feat more advantageous than using improved disarm].

If successful, the opponent does not threaten the character with the melee weapon or natural weapon for until the opponent's next action. If used against a shield, the character can ignore the shield's armor class bonus until the opponent's next action.

This would represent knocking aside an opponent's defenses, and would be great if the monk then wanted to do something like grapple the opponent.

Daniel
aware that this is totally house-rules territory, and not really caring
 
Last edited:


Pax said:
I have to say, this "clarification" is another example of The Sage speaking out of his nether orifice without considering what the FEat SAYS, and what it is/was INTENDED to do.

I don't know why you're attacking the Sage here. That's how the feat works. We discussed this when Sword and Fist came out. It was basically a useless feat (there were a couple more as well). This wasn't the case of the Sage sticking in his own judgement on a ruling, it's how it works. You have one Full Round Action you could take a round. That could be a Full Attack Action (which is a full round action that gives you all of your iterative attacks) or you could choose to take a Circle Kick.

I'm all in favor of changing it.

IceBear
 
Last edited:


Hypersmurf said:


You make a single unarmed attack. If this attack hits, you can make a single unarmed attack against another opponent.

It goes on to refer to the second attack.

There's nothing in the feat to imply, suggest, or allow a third attack, whether or not the second single attack hits.

-Hyp.

True, but there's nothing in the description of Cleave to imply, suggest, or allow a third attack either. Instead, they disallow use of the feat more than once a round. Remove that disallow statement, and Cleave effectively becomes Great Cleave, again without mentioning multiple attacks of any sort. Circle Kick contains no such disallow statement, thus...

However, since the Sage has already clarified the feat counter to my reading, I'll admit my interpretation is a House Rule and bow out. But as far as verbiage goes, I think my interp is certainly justified by the text. :)
 

True, but there's nothing in the description of Cleave to imply, suggest, or allow a third attack either. Instead, they disallow use of the feat more than once a round. Remove that disallow statement, and Cleave effectively becomes Great Cleave, again without mentioning multiple attacks of any sort.


This is true. It's a very different situation, however.

Opportunities for use of Cleave could potentially come up multiple times in one round. The disallow statement is required to restrict it - the restriction is not implicit in the mechanics of the feat, if the statement is omitted.

Circle Kick, however, requires the full attack action. There are no circumstances, Haste included, where the full attack action may be undertaken twice in one round. The feat specifies that by taking the full attack action, you may make a single attack. It doesn't say that any time you hit anyone when using Circle Kick, you get another attack. It says Circle Kick allows you to make one attack, and if that attack hits, you can attack again.

The single attack Circle Kick allows can only ever happen once in any given round. The restriction is implicit... there's no need to emphasise it by saying it again.

It would be like saying "Loading a Heavy Crossbow requires a full-round action. A character may only load the crossbow once each round."

But as far as verbiage goes, I think my interp is certainly justified by the text. :)

I disagree :)

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top