Cleave questions

Jeb McDonald

First Post
My apologies if this has been covered. Didn't find anything when I searched...

Two orcs attempt to rush past Bob the fighter to get to the wizard. Assuming Bob isn't flat footed, he takes an AoO against one of the orcs and kills it. May Bob now take his cleave attack against the other orc (with the understanding Bob hasn't used his cleave attack for the round and also doesn't have to move to attack the second orc).

New situation--Bob the fighter is attacking a critter who then decides it is time to run away from Bob. Let's also assume the critter's retreat causes an AoO. What kind of attack option may Bob do? Is he allowed to make a trip attack? Grapple?

Thank you.

Jeb
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Two answers:

Can Bob cleave on an AoO? Yes.
However, the situation described is impossible according to a strict interpretation of the rules. Just like PCs, the orcs have to move one at a time, therefore Bob does not threaten the second orc when he cleaves the first because the second orc has not yet begun to move and is not in Bob's threatened area. A DM would be justified in allowing the cleave attempt under the "simulation of reality" clause though since both orcs would be running at about the same time and it's only the turn-based nature of the game that prevents them from both being threatened at the same time.

2. A character may use any option normally available to him as an attack for an AoO. This includes, Trip, Disarm, and Grapple, and according to the FAQ (but not a strict interpretation of the action type table), Sunder.
 


Remove ads

Top