Command word activation

sfedi

First Post
Command word activation says that it takes a Standard Action to activate the item.

MIC expands this and adds free an swift Command word activations.

Still, DMG and MIC both add that you can accidentally activate the item by simply speaking the work (while wielding/wearing ti).

So, essentially, activating a Command word is a free action, isn´t it?

This is specially important for flaming/frost/etc enchantments on weapons.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

sfedi said:
So, essentially, activating a Command word is a free action, isn´t it?

This is specially important for flaming/frost/etc enchantments on weapons.

Those are generally considered use activated, not command word activated.
 

sfedi said:
Still, DMG and MIC both add that you can accidentally activate the item by simply speaking the work (while wielding/wearing ti).

I've always considered this fluff that doesn't actually reflect the rules mechanics. You can only accidentally activate an item by 'accidentally' taking the Activate Command Word Item standard action... which is a decision the player has to make, even if the character considers it an accident.

moritheil said:
Those are generally considered use activated, not command word activated.

Really? I always took "Upon command, a flaming weapon is sheathed in fire" to mean "Upon command"...

-Hyp.
 

moritheil said:
Those are generally considered use activated, not command word activated.
How is that so?

Is that consensus or a rule or FAQ?

Hypersmurf said:
I've always considered this fluff that doesn't actually reflect the rules mechanics. You can only accidentally activate an item by 'accidentally' taking the Activate Command Word Item standard action... which is a decision the player has to make, even if the character considers it an accident.
Yet that´s a rule, and not fluff. Isn´t it?

And it´s quite explicit too, it says "the holder of the item runs the risk of activating
the item accidentally by speaking the word in normal conversation".
Speaking a word, IIRC, by the rules, is a free action you can take outside of your turn.
 
Last edited:

sfedi said:
Speaking a word, IIRC, by the rules, is a free action you can take outside of your turn.

Right, but activating the item requires that the word be spoken as part of a standard action.

So if you accidentally speak the word in normal conversation, then you'll either a/ activate the item if you're taking the Activate an Item standard action to do so, or b/ fail to activate the item if you're not taking the Activate an Item standard action to do so.

If I say "Bamf!", while taking a standard action to activate my Cloak of the Mountebank, I Dimension Door.

If I attack someone as a standard action, and then say "Bamf!" as a free action, my cloak isn't activated - I don't have a standard action available.

So it's only possible to activate the item accidentally if you have a standard action available to do so. One might rule, I suppose, that if you accidentally say the word at the start of your turn, then your standard action is used in activating the item. But if you accidentally say the word at the end of your turn, you are incapable of activating the item, because both the word and the standard action are required.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Really? I always took "Upon command, a flaming weapon is sheathed in fire" to mean "Upon command"...

-Hyp.

I don't mean the activation of it being sheathed in fire, I mean the damage while activated.

You're perfectly correct in reading the rules text. In general, and for enhancements that do not have that sort of on/off activation, are weapons not assumed to be use-activated?
 

moritheil said:
I don't mean the activation of it being sheathed in fire, I mean the damage while activated.

I'm pretty sure the OP meant "In round 1, do I draw my sword as a move action and activate the flames as a standard action? Or do I draw my sword as a move action, speak the command word that activates the flames as a free action, and attack as a standard action?"

He's talking about the activation, not the damage-dealing.

-Hyp.
 



Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top