Competence Bonuses

Bonuses with no names stack with any other bonuses (but not with themselves).
I've always interpreted it to mean that an unnamed bonus from one source would not stack with the unnamed bonus from a similar source. For example, the unnamed +2 bonus to Strength and the unnamed +1 bonus to caster level from Death Knell would not stack with another casting of Death Knell.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If you had a spell that gave, say, a +1 unnamed bonus to strenght, you couldn't cast it 10 times for a +10 bonus.

--Impeesa--
 

Impeesa said:
If you had a spell that gave, say, a +1 unnamed bonus to strenght, you couldn't cast it 10 times for a +10 bonus.

--Impeesa--
OK.

But it does specify in the books that no-one can be affected more than once by the same spell, so that's redundant.
 

Trainz said:
OK.

But it does specify in the books that no-one can be affected more than once by the same spell, so that's redundant.
They have to mention it there or that rule would be incomplete. You'd have one rule saying unnamed bonuses always stack and another rule elsewhere in the book saying they sometimes don't.

Anyway, who said that everything can only be said once? If that bothers you, you must hate the Skills chapter. All of the synergy bonuses are mentioned twice! ;)
 



Remove ads

Top