Complete mage: abjurant champion error?

brehobit

Explorer
Hi folks,
It looks like the abjurant champion has an error of some sort. The abjurant armor ability allows the AC to add his class level to the armor and/or shield bonus of any abjuration. It hints that his is intended to help with mage armor (which is conjuration). The sample character (5th level AC) has an armor bonus of +9 and the only source would appear to be from the mage armor spell he has (listed as "already cast").

Sorry if others have already pointed this out, any idea how it is suppose to work?

Mark
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Mage armor is a bad example. The ability will only work with shield or repelling shield (CM) (that I can think of). Still, an abjurant champion5/argent savant 2 [CArc, +2 AC from force +AC effects] gets a total of +19 AC [4+5+2, +6+2]from shield and greater mage armor (SC). That's not bad. :)

The example character's AC is a mistake.
 

Iku Rex said:
The example character's AC is a mistake.
That just happens to be right of mage armor _did_ get the bonus?

I think you are right. My guess is it was originally written to work for mage armor and shield and someone forgot to clean up the mess after it was changed. Certainly, your reading is RAW. But I _would_ like the errata to address this someday...
 

Iku Rex said:
The ability will only work with shield or repelling shield (CM) (that I can think of).

It should also work with protection from evil and magic circle against evil (as well as the associated chaos, good, and law ones), right? That's an abjuration providing an AC bonus (among other things).
 

FalcWP said:
It should also work with protection from evil and magic circle against evil (as well as the associated chaos, good, and law ones), right? That's an abjuration providing an AC bonus (among other things).
But not an armor or a shield bonus (as required).

Mark
 

FalcWP said:
It should also work with protection from evil and magic circle against evil (as well as the associated chaos, good, and law ones), right? That's an abjuration providing an AC bonus (among other things).
It has to be a shield or armor bonus.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top