But the Combat Challenge Attack that is provoked by shifting doesn´t prevent the enemy from finishing it´s shift. Since it is not an AoO.Xect said:No, it's an interrupt. So you smack them and if they stop, they never move in the first place.
But the Combat Challenge Attack that is provoked by shifting doesn´t prevent the enemy from finishing it´s shift. Since it is not an AoO.Xect said:No, it's an interrupt. So you smack them and if they stop, they never move in the first place.
sfedi said:Make a Combat Challenge Attack (CCA): only on marked enemies, provoked by shifting (not moving) or making an attack that doesn´t include me, only one per turn, basic melee attack, doesn´t stop enemy from moving, nor does it benefit from AoO related feats or features.
AoO: provoked moving (not shifting) or making a ranged/area attack. Only one per turn, and can benefit from various feats and prevents enemy from moving.
Adyacent enemy (not marked)
Shifts - No
Moves - Provokes AoO
Attacks (non-ranged/area attack) you - No
Attacks (non-ranged/area attack) other - No
Makes ranged/area attack including you - Provokes AoO
Makes ranged/area attack NOT including you - Provokes AoO
Adyacent enemy (marked)
Shifts - Provokes CCA
Moves - Provokes AoO
Attacks (non-ranged/area attack) you - No
Attacks (non-ranged/area attack) other - Provokes CCA
Makes ranged/area attack including you - Provokes AoO
Makes ranged/area attack NOT including you - Provokes AoO and CCA
So, an enemy can still avoid my AoO, by shifting (and provoking a CCA which doesnt´prevent moving) and then doing something else.
This seems quite complex.
ZombieRoboNinja said:As I just mentioned in a similar thread, this distinction can be helpful at times, since you CAN use both an OA and CCA in the same round.
For example, let's say an enemy tries to run past you, and you hit him with an OA and stop him in his tracks and marking him. If he moves again or even shoots you in the face with a crossbow, you can't do anything about it, because you've already used your OA... but if he tries to shift or attack someone other than you, you can still hit him with a CCA.
Actually that's not the case. An interrupt only means that it's going before the triggering action is completed. An interrupt does not automatically stopp the triggering action from being completed anyway, it only does so if the outcome of the interrupt makes the triggering impossible to complete (aka being out of reach after the interrupt or kill the enemy during the interrupt).Xect said:No, it's an interrupt. So you smack them and if they stop, they never move in the first place.
Shabe said:Wait a minute, so is a dragborn fighter / fighter/wizard able to mark multiple opponents with a breath weapon/scorching blast?
I have ruled that he can as the rules are written.