Could "Touch of Fatigue" stop a barbarian's rage?

Particle_Man

Explorer
Well, what do you think? I know that a barbarian has a better will save while raging, but say he fails the will save vs. this cantrip. Is he now fatigued, and, if so, has his rage been abruptly ended?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Thats a very good question, I'm not sure one way or the other, because its not very clear in the Rage entry. I am however curious as to see what others think.
 

Fatigue doesn't end Rage; Rage ends in Fatigue. Not the same thing. He'd be Raging and Fatigued at the same time, and when the Rage wears off he'd be Fatigued again (which bumps it up to Exhausted).
 

Spatzimaus said:
Fatigue doesn't end Rage; Rage ends in Fatigue. Not the same thing. He'd be Raging and Fatigued at the same time, and when the Rage wears off he'd be Fatigued again (which bumps it up to Exhausted).

I agree with this statement. As Touch of Fatifue does not say anything about ending Rage but it clearly states that "The subject is immediatley fatigued. ..lasting for the spell's duration."
The Rage entry under Barbarian staes that they become fatigued when rage is ended/ends. Can only fly into a rage once per encounter.

I see no mention of them "not being able to Rage while aftigued though."

So these things would basically "stack" I guess. Therefore his AC would get even worse ;) and his Str bonus would count for less.

By the explanation of fatigue (at least on page 308 PHB) I also agree that they would be exhausted if the rage is oer (becoming fatigued) while under the influence of the ToF spell, for the duration of the spell.

This is kind of a cool concept IMHO
 



Touch of Fatigue does not stack with Rage Fatigue

Read the 3.5E Player's Handbook description of the Touch of Fatigue spell. "This spell has no effect on a creature that is already fatigued."
 

Re: Touch of Fatigue does not stack with Rage Fatigue

Tessarael said:
Read the 3.5E Player's Handbook description of the Touch of Fatigue spell. "This spell has no effect on a creature that is already fatigued."

True that it would have no effect if fired at a fatigued barbarian... but the same proviso doesn't necessarily hold true for a barbarian dropping out of rage - his sudden fatigue could easily be ruled to stack with any previous fatigue (since it doesn't prohibit it) :)
 

yep and the rules for [/i]fatigue[/i] say that:
"Doing anything that would normally cause fatigue causes the fatigued character to become exhausted."

So it would make sense that if the Raging Barbarian is hit with the Touch of Fatigue (he) becomes fatigued while raging and then upon ending the Rage he would be "doing something that would normally cause fatigue, thereby becoming exhausted.

At least for the duration of the spell, personally I would allow the exhaustion to fade when the ToF ends. ;)
 

it may not affect a Barbarian in Rage that awful much, but it sure would screw up a lion or tiger trying to Pounce, or a Singh Rager or character with Lion's Pounce, or whatever that spell in SavSpecies was.

Not that I've ever seen a character that relied on charging, or anything. :D
 

Remove ads

Top