Crafting Questions - Prereq Spells

Lord Morte

First Post
Am I correct in my understanding that to craft a magic item the crafter must be able to cast the spell each day of the crafting process?

If this is the case, then what ways around this are there aside from getting another caster in to assist you?

My specific problem is a necromancer (opposition schools illusion and transmutation) is trying to craft himself a flesh golem, which uses the same rules as crafting magic items IIRC. With enough levels or a golem manual, he can meet all the prereqs except bull's strength, which he can't cast, even from the manual, as it belongs to the transmutation school. Is he stuck? Do I need to change the opposition schools (the easy way, but makes him less than ideal for my purposes :] )

Hmm, perhaps a better question to ask is if my understanding of specialist wizards' opposition school is correct. Not being able to cast spells of that school DOES translate to not being able to active spell completion or spell trigger magic items of that school, such as scrolls, wands and golem manuals, right?

Thanks in advance!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You are correct in all counts.

In such a case, your necromancer needs a lackey - either a cleric, druid, paladin, wizard, or sorceror - to provide the particular spell prerequisite.
 


Viashimo said:
If you're an artificer you don't need those prerequisite spells.
Well, the question relates to his Wizard specifically because of his specialization. If he were any other class, he could use UMD anyway...
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top