Patryn of Elvenshae
First Post
RuminDange said:Healing is clearly flagged to me as an exception for this rule because of the “Unless …” clause.
Except, of course, that you have to twist English to get it to work that way.
RuminDange said:Healing is clearly flagged to me as an exception for this rule because of the “Unless …” clause.
In your opinion useless and therefore ignored by you, but an exception to me. One that works in the benefit of players if they are ever in that situation. Which at least one of mine have been in at least once over the last 4 almost 5 years of my ongoing campaign.KarinsDad said:You mean the "useless" clause whose only purpose is to let people know in the disabled section that getting to -1 means that you are dying (since the disabled section is not the dying section of the rules)?![]()
Teaching without a license again?Patryn of Elvenshae said:Except, of course, that you have to twist English to get it to work that way.
RuminDange said:In your opinion useless and therefore ignored by you, but an exception to me. One that works in the benefit of players if they are ever in that situation. Which at least one of mine have been in at least once over the last 4 almost 5 years of my ongoing campaign.
I agree there are some people that I consider "rules experts" here, that is one of the reason I enjoy this site so much as the different views you can get on something that helps you think critically about a rule you have a question about or possibility a disagreement about between players. I normally agree with Hypersmurf, Diaglo, Piratecat and many others. But there are times when they are wrong, miss something, or just don't agree with their view about it. I don't just change my mind based on a few people's opinion just because they are normally right, I use my own judgment as well. I not working towards a Master degree to be hand held and feed other peoples opinion as gospel.KarinsDad said:Actually, I am fairly knowlegeable on the rules (although I stopped playing the DND game system for a year or so and am rusty again) and can therefore be pretty stubborn on these boards (without good evidence to the contrary).
But, as soon as the three rules monkeys Hypersmurf, Patryn of Elvenshae, and Caliban all chime in on the opposite side of my position, I start figuring that I could be wrong.
So yes, there are some people who I consider "rules experts" here. Not that they cannot be wrong, but if I see agreement between the three of them, I pretty much figure that they are right. YMMV.![]()
RuminDange said:...use your opinion in your game and I will use my opinion in my game.
RD
SRD said:DISABLED (0 HIT POINTS)
When your current hit points drop to exactly 0, you’re disabled. You can only take a single move or standard action each turn (but not both, nor can you take full-round actions). You can take move actions without further injuring yourself, but if you perform any standard action (or any other strenuous action) you take 1 point of damage after the completing the act. Unless your activity increased your hit points, you are now at –1 hit points, and you’re dying.
Healing that raises your hit points above 0 makes you fully functional again, just as if you’d never been reduced to 0 or fewer hit points.
You can also become disabled when recovering from dying. In this case, it’s a step toward recovery, and you can have fewer than 0 hit points (see Stable Characters and Recovery, below).
RuminDange said:Teaching without a license again?![]()
Twisted by me in your opinion. You are ignoring the english language in mine.
RD
KarinsDad said:Most of the rest of us here think that if the designers did not want you to take that one point of damage if you healed yourself, they would have stated it.
I'd have to say even the way you have rewritten the sentence I would still say there is an exception to the rule when your standard action increases your hit points, even more so with your version. That is how it reads to me. No different than if you had written: Taking move actions doesn’t risk further injury, but performing any standard action (…) deals 1 point of damage after the completion of the act, unless the action increased the disabled character’s hit points, you are now at –1 hit points, and you’re dying.IcyCool said:So would you still argue your point if the last sentance was written:
You are now at –1 hit points, and you’re dying, unless your activity increased your hit points.
I'm simply curious, because from a grammatical perspective, Patryn is correct. I happen to think that a disabled character who casts a healing spell on himself should not cause the 1 damage to be inflicted. That's not what is written, so I houserule it. It seems to me that you are arguing the "Spirit of the Rules" and Patryn and KarinsDad are arguing the "Letter of the Rules".