[CW] Drunken Master questions

reiella

Explorer
Bit interested in trying to interpret some of the abilities of the Drunken Master now :). Mostly curious as to if I missed anything.

1) Ki Strike : Does Ki Strike carry over to Improvised Weapon use at all? I'm guessing not from the wording in CW.

2) Flurry of Blows : Can you flurry with Improvised Weapons? Again I'm guessing not, because Improvised Weapons doesn't seem to add anything to the Special Monk weapon list.

3) Critical Hits : I'm just not sure how critical hits should work with Improvised Weapons at all. On one hand, it is "bonus dice", on the other, it's still the base damage of the improvised weapon.

4) Magical Improvised Weapons : Now here's something I find kinda odd. Consider a magical mug of some sort being used as an improvised weapon. On a 1, it should break by the Improvised Weapon rules, but because it's a magical item, it is supposed to get a save to avoid being destroyed. So I'm not sure if it still gets a save, or even what type of save.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I'd say...

1) No, Ki Strike is only for unarmed attacks.
2) No, as you said.

Also the example character does not say anything about improvised weapons under the respective abilities.

3) I'd consider it weapon damage and multiply it with a critical hit.
4) I wouldn't consider a magical "improvised weapon" as an improvised weapon, really. That's somewhat besides the point, or not?

Bye
Thanee
 

With #4, I'd say that magical Beer Mug of Free Refills or Gourd of Everflowing Ale you're swinging around as a weapon gets a save (the type of save doesn't matter):

"Magic items should always get a saving throw against spells that might deal damage to them--even against attacks from which a nonmagical item would normally get no chance to save. Magic items use the same saving throw bonus for all saves, no matter what the type (Fortitude, Reflex, or Will). A magic item's saving throw bonus equals 2 + one-half its caster level (rounded down)."
 

reiella said:
Bit interested in trying to interpret some of the abilities of the Drunken Master now :). Mostly curious as to if I missed anything.

1) Ki Strike : Does Ki Strike carry over to Improvised Weapon use at all? I'm guessing not from the wording in CW.
Yes. Note that Improvised Weapons are essentially donus damage, not replacement damage per se. YMMV however.

2) Flurry of Blows : Can you flurry with Improvised Weapons? Again I'm guessing not, because Improvised Weapons doesn't seem to add anything to the Special Monk weapon list.
I would definitely allow it. Improvised Weapons, per above, is mroe a "bonus dice when fighting unarmed", than a "weaponproficiency" of any sort.

3) Critical Hits : I'm just not sure how critical hits should work with Improvised Weapons at all. On one hand, it is "bonus dice", on the other, it's still the base damage of the improvised weapon.
I treat the Improvised Weapon die as a bonus die. IOW, no criticals with tHAT, but the base unarmed damage is still multipleid as appropriate.

4) Magical Improvised Weapons : Now here's something I find kinda odd. Consider a magical mug of some sort being used as an improvised weapon. On a 1, it should break by the Improvised Weapon rules, but because it's a magical item, it is supposed to get a save to avoid being destroyed. So I'm not sure if it still gets a save, or even what type of save.
Then again ... when's the last time you saw a "+1 mug" ... ? Which is why I'm inclined to treat the ability as simply bonus damage when fighting unarmed ... and let the character's other abilities determine what sorts of DR can be penetrated.
 

#4 I'm a bit confused on too, it obviosuly wouldn't pierce DR [+1 is required to pierce Magic DR, and as Pax said, unless you make a +1 Mug it's kinda pointless]. Mostly pointed for the destruction effect.

Although sledged does bring up an interesting point that I think I overlooked. The Magic Item always gets save aspect does seem to be limited to spell effects. If that is consistant throughout the rules, I can see the item not getting a save in that event.

As a related question to #4, more on the DR issue.

Would a steel mug breach steel DR? Would an adamantine mug breach adamantine DR? Mostly curious on the later as the char build in question is sacrificing Ki Strike (Adamantine), and I want to determine if it is a "real sacrifice" or not.
 

Pax said:
when's the last time you saw a "+1 mug" ... ?
He didn't mean a mug magically enchanted as a weapon. He meant a mug with magical properties (like a Mug of Endless Ale, a variation of the Decanter of Endless Water) used as an improvised weapon. To make things a little clearer, let's rephrase his question:

If a drunken master is using a Crystal Ball as an improvised weapon, and he rolls a natural 1, is the item destroyed, or does it get a saving throw because it's a magic item?

reiella said:
Would a steel mug breach steel DR? Would an adamantine mug breach adamantine DR?
Why not? The damage may be based on the monk's unarmed strike, but it's the mug that's being struck against the opponent.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top