D&D FAQ gets it wrong?

Actually, re-reading the response I received when I questioned CustServ on the apparent contradiction, it seems Hypersmurf is correct.

CustServ said:
Thank you for contacting us.

Actually, the FAQ is stating the exact same thing. Below is the FAQ entry and then Trevor's Response to your earlier question.

Does a 1st-level wizard/4th-level rogue with Practiced
Spellcaster qualify for a prestige class that requires
“Spellcaster level 5th”?

No. This prestige class requirement doesn’t refer to your caster level (a value which can be modified by many feats, class features, and even temporary effects) but to your actual level in a spellcasting class. (If it helps, you can think of this requirement as “Spellcaster, 5th level.”)

(Trevor's Response) Hey there Kelly. If a prestige class requirement has a caster level listed, such as the Acolyte of skin with it's "Caster level 5th" requirement, then yes, having the Practiced Spellcaster feat will work to qualify for that prestige class. If the prestige class does not mention caster level but instead mentions a necessary spell level or the ability to cast certain spells from a certain level, then practiced spellcaster would not help. Have fun and good gaming!

I know Trevor did not mention Spellcaster level, but that is what the FAQ is trying to explain.

Acolyte of the Skin requires Caster Level 5th, so according to customer service PS would help you qualify. The FAQ only addresses the requirement of Spellcaster Level xth prereqs which PS would not help with. PS increases your Caster Level, but not your Spellcaster Level. That's the most official response I have at this point. I just wasn't originally seeing the distinction between Caster Level and Spellcaster Level that CustServ is attempting to point out to me above.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Vyvyan Basterd said:
PS increases your Caster Level, but not your Spellcaster Level.

I disagree. It doesn't affect YOUR Caster Level. It affects the caster level of the SPELLS that you cast. A Wizard 1/Rogue 4 w/ the PS feat is still a 1st level spell caster (a Wizard to be specific) and still only has a caster level of 1. When he casts a spell, that SPELL's caster level is increased by +4.

Which is strange I guess. Not only do classes and PrCs have caster levels, but spells have them to!
 

RigaMortus2 said:
I disagree. It doesn't affect YOUR Caster Level. It affects the caster level of the SPELLS that you cast. A Wizard 1/Rogue 4 w/ the PS feat is still a 1st level spell caster (a Wizard to be specific) and still only has a caster level of 1. When he casts a spell, that SPELL's caster level is increased by +4.

Which is strange I guess. Not only do classes and PrCs have caster levels, but spells have them to!

Here is an insightful look. The spell when cast is at upto 4 levels higher or upto your HD. This does not make you a 4 level higher spell caster. If you take a second spell casting class, this does not make that class at higher level nor does the class make the previous class at higher level.

PS should be worded such:

"Spells cast for a specific spell casting class, are treated as if they were cast by a caster of upto 4 levels higher not to exceed the HD of the caster. It only changes the spell for purposes of range, damage, duration and AoE. It does not make the caster a higher level for purposes of qualifying for any prestige classes."

This would solve most of the argument.
 

RigaMortus2 said:
I disagree. It doesn't affect YOUR Caster Level. It affects the caster level of the SPELLS that you cast. A Wizard 1/Rogue 4 w/ the PS feat is still a 1st level spell caster (a Wizard to be specific)

Correct. This is what the FAQ is saying.

RigaMortus2 said:
and still only has a caster level of 1.

When he casts a spell, that SPELL's caster level is increased by +4.

To quote the feat: "YOUR caster level for the chosen spellcasting class increases by 4."

Which is strange I guess. Not only do classes and PrCs have caster levels, but spells have them to!

A spell has a Spell Level, not a Caster Level.

CustServ is in my favor, so you'll have to come up with a more convincing argument to sway me.
 


From PS:

"For example, a human 5th-level sorcerer/3rd-level fighter who selects this feat would increase his sorcerer caster level from 5th to 8th."

Clearly the Caster Level of this PC is 8th. The feat does not limit what benefits this increased caster level applies to and it definately does not state that it only increase your spell's caster level (which it wouldn't since SPELLS don't have a Caster Level).
 

the Jester said:
Except the RAW states that when you manifest a mind blade it appears as a short sword.

Whereas shape mind blade specifices you may change your mind blade's form.

Er, it does not specify a duration, but it sure does specify that when you create a mind blade it appears as a shortsword.

And shape mind blade specifies you may give it "a new form."

KarindsDad said:
You are adding rules where none exist.

Where in the rules does it state a mind blade is unshaped when it goes away?
 

Vyvyan Basterd said:
From PS:

"For example, a human 5th-level sorcerer/3rd-level fighter who selects this feat would increase his sorcerer caster level from 5th to 8th."

Clearly the Caster Level of this PC is 8th. The feat does not limit what benefits this increased caster level applies to and it definately does not state that it only increase your spell's caster level (which it wouldn't since SPELLS don't have a Caster Level).

Practiced Spellcaster
Choose one of your spellcasting classes. The spells you cast from this class have +4 Caster level (up to your number of HD).

This says your spells have a higher Caster Level. That's what it says.

It would seem that when you cast a spell it gets the higher caster level, but you yourself do not have a higher caster level for all purposes.

At least that's the way it is written.
 

Artoomis said:
This says your spells have a higher Caster Level. That's what it says.

It would seem that when you cast a spell it gets the higher caster level, but you yourself do not have a higher caster level for all purposes.

At least that's the way it is written.

That would be consistent with the Practiced Caster/wild magic ruling. That would be evidence for my interpretation and against Hypersmurf's intepretation of the 4th level wizard fireball.
 

Remove ads

Top