Daylight spell

Kershek

Sci-Fi Newshound
If you cast the the Daylight spell on an invisible creature, like a hellcat, does the point of light that emanates from it count as making the creature targettable (say, 9/10ths cover)? If the bead of light was cast on the hellcat's snout, would it blind it?

These two questions were posed in my game yesterday. I ruled no on both but I would like to hear from others as well.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If you cast it on an invisible creature (50% miss change if you get the correct square) I wouldn't allow that to allow others to pinpoint the square.

No, Daylight can't blind anyone unless they have a light sensitivity in their creature description.
 


I don't think that's possible, afterall the Daylight spell stats say that this spell may only be cast on an object. A living creature doesn't count as an object I'm afraid.
 



Dash Dannigan said:
I don't think that's possible, afterall the Daylight spell stats say that this spell may only be cast on an object. A living creature doesn't count as an object I'm afraid.

True, what about casting it on his armor though?
 

Stalker0 said:


True, what about casting it on his armor though?


Very good question.

Im think it's a very reasonable rule that since the affected object would have an very intense light, it would "blind" anyone with the eyes too close to it.

Maybe 1d4 rounds of blindness after the light is taken away.

or

A progressive recovering: 1 round after the light is away: blind; 2 to 4 rounds -2 in all attacks and AC.
 

Stalker0 said:


True, what about casting it on his armor though?

You can do that. The creature gets a Will save in this case.

It still won't cause any vision problems. The spell doesn't allow for it.

Anyway the Object radiates light not a specific point on the object .
 

Elaboration please?!?

I've been thinking of a strategy entailing the use of Daylight myself and saw a comment above which stated that casting the spell on an item held by a creature allows the creature a Will save.

Could someone please explain this to me? The spell description states "Saving Throw: None" so I'm confused why a creature holding an item gets a Will Save if I attempt to cast it on an item he's carrying.

I still have to make a touch attack on the item to even be able to cast it but was curious as to the save issue, as the spell description says no save.

I am no doubt missing a rule where you can't cast a spell on a carried item but some elaboration on this would be nice.

Thanks in advance!

:)
 

Remove ads

Top