Dealing damage during touch attack spells

dogoftheunderworld

Adventurer
Supporter
I have a Monk/Druid character. If I cast Produce Flame, this gives me a touch attack that causes damage (similar instance would be the shocking grasp spell for a sorcerer). Can I use my normal attack action (using improved unarmed strike) to attack a creature, causing the flame damage on hitting his Touch AC, as well as the normal fist damage if I hit his total AC? This would also by-pass any Attacks of Opportunity from attacking un-armed.

This seems reasonible to me, but I was wondering what others thoughts were, or if there is a rule against this in 3.0 or 3.5?

Thanks,

Brian.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

IMO...

Energizing your unarmed attacks w/produce flame would allow you to either:
1) make all unarmed attacks as touch, and only do flame damage

or

2) make all unarmed attacks at target's full AC, and do both flame damage and unarmed damage... assuming they hit of course.

Mike
 

dogoftheunderworld said:
I have a Monk/Druid character. If I cast Produce Flame, this gives me a touch attack that causes damage (similar instance would be the shocking grasp spell for a sorcerer). Can I use my normal attack action (using improved unarmed strike) to attack a creature,
Yes.
causing the flame damage on hitting his Touch AC, as well as the normal fist damage if I hit his total AC?
No. You either make a melee touch attack and do the flame damage, or you make the unarmed strike and deal both the flame and unarmed strike damage. If you miss with the unarmed strike, you don't do any damage but you still hold the charge.

This would also by-pass any Attacks of Opportunity from attacking un-armed.
There is no AoO when you make melee touch attacks to deliver a touch spell. The spellcaster is considered "armed" when he attacks in this manner. IOW, a sorcerer using shocking grasp does not provoke an AoO when trying to touch his target with the spell.
 

MichaelH said:
If you miss with the unarmed strike, you don't do any damage but you still hold the charge.
But there isn't a chance to "hold the charge" in this specific case, as the spell lasts for 1 min/level, and each melee or ranged attack reduces the duration by 1 min.

Mike
 


dogoftheunderworld said:
I have a Monk/Druid character. If I cast Produce Flame, this gives me a touch attack that causes damage (similar instance would be the shocking grasp spell for a sorcerer). Can I use my normal attack action (using improved unarmed strike) to attack a creature, causing the flame damage on hitting his Touch AC, as well as the normal fist damage if I hit his total AC? ...

Not quite. You have to choose which way you strike:

1. Touch Attack - no unarmed damage, but it's easier to hit.
2. Improved Unarmed Attack - Unarmed damage plus the spell's damage,. but it's harder to hit as you must hit the regular AC.

I couldn't find the rule in the SRD, but I'm sure it's there somewhere.
 

MichaelH said:
There is no AoO when you make melee touch attacks to deliver a touch spell. The spellcaster is considered "armed" when he attacks in this manner. IOW, a sorcerer using shocking grasp does not provoke an AoO when trying to touch his target with the spell.

Actually, keep in mind that if a Sorcerer without Improved Unarmed Strike tries to make an actual attack rather than a touch attack (to try and do Unarmed Strike Damage as well) he WOULD provoke an Attack of Opportunity, because he's no longer attacking with the spell, he's attacking with his (unarmed) fist. The spell just adds a little extra damage.
 

Remove ads

Top