Different Flavored Auras

darkadelphia

First Post
In the MM glossary, it says that auras with "similar effects" do not stack--specifically, it gives the example of an aura dealing 5 cold damage and another aura dealing 10 cold damage. Do these not stack because they both do cold damage or because they both do damage?

Example, if two monsters standing next to each other have damaging auras, one dealing cold and one dealing fire, do PCs in the areas of effect take both auras' damage, or just the more damaging one.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


In the MM glossary, it says that auras with "similar effects" do not stack--specifically, it gives the example of an aura dealing 5 cold damage and another aura dealing 10 cold damage. Do these not stack because they both do cold damage or because they both do damage?

Example, if two monsters standing next to each other have damaging auras, one dealing cold and one dealing fire, do PCs in the areas of effect take both auras' damage, or just the more damaging one.

They don't stack because they're both cold. The fire and damage auras, in your example, would both deal full damage.
 

What about auras that do untyped damage, like the kruthiks' Gnashing Horde (MM 170)? If a PC ends his turn near multiple kruthiks, does he take damage from all of their auras, or just from one of them?

And what about auras that do no damage, but enable a monster to attack a PC, like the Needlefang Drake Swarm's Swarm Attack (MM 90)? If a PC begins a turn near multiple swarms, do they all get to attack, or does only one of them?
 

What about auras that do untyped damage, like the kruthiks' Gnashing Horde (MM 170)? If a PC ends his turn near multiple kruthiks, does he take damage from all of their auras, or just from one of them?

And what about auras that do no damage, but enable a monster to attack a PC, like the Needlefang Drake Swarm's Swarm Attack (MM 90)? If a PC begins a turn near multiple swarms, do they all get to attack, or does only one of them?



Same critter type, whatever kind of an aura it is, they are the same type. So no stacking.

If both auras do normal damage (as in that done by weapon, claw, etc.) then they are doing the same type of damage and they don't stack.

Same effect, whatever the effect, no stacking.

Different critters, different effect - they stack.

The needlefang Drake is an odd case, however. IMHO, The Aura has no effect on the target. Rather, it has an effect on the Drake (it allows it to make an attack). Thus stacking doesn't apply, imho. But reasonable DMs may differ....

On the other hand, that's a tough critter for its level and interpreting that as an aura effect and thus non-stacking may be a way to keep multiples from being too powerful.

Carl
 
Last edited:


It was my impression that untyped stuff always stacks, thus two untyped auras would stack, wouldn't they?
Hmm ... that an interesting point. I doubt that there's any specific clarification on that in the rules, though, so it's probably up to whichever DM is at the table. I can see it being reasonable both ways, so I'm not sure how I'd call it. It would probably depend on how bad the PCs are getting hammered ;)
 

Remove ads

Top