Neo
Explorer
I had a player in my group today ask if his player could be a spellfire wielder... my first feeling was to say no, but being a soft touch I decided to read the spell fire rules as presented in the Magic of Faerun and in the end decided to allow him.
Spellfire stipulates that you must ready an action to absorb a spell in order to absorb it or not, mostly due to you having a max limit related to your constitution that determines the maximum number of spell levels you can hold at any given time, any excess firing off at random people around you. So a spellfire wielder needs to be able to choose whether to absorb a spell and risk going over the limit at times or not and take the effect. However i felt that this with regards to beneficial magic was a little too convenient if the spellfire wielder was also a caster themselves.. i.e they buff up and then they absorb any incoming magics to unleash magical hell upon thier enemies.
As a result I stipulated that as a spellfire wielder no beneficial magical spells cast at or on him would work for him as these would automatically be absorbed..being the magical sponge that he now is. This of course would not affect any benefits from magical items such as worn rings, amulets, armours etc... as they are not technically spells cast at him.
Now I know the player in question is feeling a little hard done by, but when you take into account that spellfire effectively makes a character "immune to Magic", even risking going over thier maximum spell level limit is only a risk to those around them, never the spellfire wielder themselves.. I feel that such a limitation is a fair and reasonable balance.
What do you guys think?, reasonable ruling?, tough DM ruling? how would you guys handle it?
Spellfire stipulates that you must ready an action to absorb a spell in order to absorb it or not, mostly due to you having a max limit related to your constitution that determines the maximum number of spell levels you can hold at any given time, any excess firing off at random people around you. So a spellfire wielder needs to be able to choose whether to absorb a spell and risk going over the limit at times or not and take the effect. However i felt that this with regards to beneficial magic was a little too convenient if the spellfire wielder was also a caster themselves.. i.e they buff up and then they absorb any incoming magics to unleash magical hell upon thier enemies.
As a result I stipulated that as a spellfire wielder no beneficial magical spells cast at or on him would work for him as these would automatically be absorbed..being the magical sponge that he now is. This of course would not affect any benefits from magical items such as worn rings, amulets, armours etc... as they are not technically spells cast at him.
Now I know the player in question is feeling a little hard done by, but when you take into account that spellfire effectively makes a character "immune to Magic", even risking going over thier maximum spell level limit is only a risk to those around them, never the spellfire wielder themselves.. I feel that such a limitation is a fair and reasonable balance.
What do you guys think?, reasonable ruling?, tough DM ruling? how would you guys handle it?
Last edited: