Do you need to meet the CL listed to make an item?

0-hr

Starship Cartographer
I've read through the book and am fairly sure that the "Caster Level" listed for wonderous items is NOT a preprequsite for creation, but I wanted to make sure before I bring it up in my group.

Here's what the SRD says (and the section on creating magic items does not mention anything):
Caster Level
The next item in a notational entry gives the caster level of the item, indicating its relative power. The caster level determines the item’s saving throw bonus, as well as range or other level-dependent aspects of the powers of the item (if variable). It also determines the level that must be contended with should the item come under the effect of a dispel magic spell or similar situation. This information is given in the form "CL x," where "CL" is an abbreviation for caster level and "x" is an ordinal number representing the caster level itself.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No, you don't.

Some items call for a specific minimum caster level to create (e.g. weapon of spell storing), but for others, you must be able to cast the spells they list as components, and thus have an implicit minimal caster level (albeit one you can get around if you're sneaky).

Cheers, -- N
 

All magic weapons, armor, and shields have a CL that must be met.

Caster Level for Armor and Shields: The caster level of a magic shield or magic armor with a special ability is given in the item description. For an item with only an enhancement bonus, the caster level is three times the enhancement bonus. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met.

Caster Level for Weapons: The caster level of a weapon with a special ability is given in the item description. For an item with only an enhancement bonus and no other abilities, the caster level is three times the enhancement bonus. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met.


So unlike most rings/rods/wondrous items/whatever, where the errata made the Caster Level entry in the item descriptions essentially meaningless as a prerequisite, for armor and weapons, it still has meaning.

Flaming: Upon command, a flaming weapon is sheathed in fire. The fire does not harm the wielder. The effect remains until another command is given. A flaming weapon deals an extra 1d6 points of fire damage on a successful hit. Bows, crossbows, and slings so crafted bestow the fire energy upon their ammunition.

Moderate evocation; CL 10th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor and flame blade, flame strike, or fireball; Price +1 bonus.


The caster level for an item with the Flaming ability is given in the description - 10th. If it has both an enhancement bonus and the Flaming ability, the higher of the two requirements - 10th or 3 x bonus - must be met.

-Hyp.
 

Hyp: so is the bit at the end of this passage just the result of bad editing?

Spell Storing
A spell storing weapon allows a spellcaster to store a single targeted spell of up to 3rd level in the weapon. (The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action.) Any time the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires. (This special ability is an exception to the general rule that casting a spell from an item takes at least as long as casting that spell normally.) Once the spell has been cast from the weapon, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted spell of up to 3rd level into it. The weapon magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled spell storing weapon has a 50% chance to have a spell stored in it already.

Strong evocation (plus aura of stored spell); CL 12th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor, creator must be a caster of at least 12th level; Price +1 bonus.

Thanks, -- N
 

Nifft said:
Hyp: so is the bit at the end of this passage just the result of bad editing?

One possible explanation is that "caster of at least 12th level" refers to level in a spellcasting class, as opposed to caster level.

A Clr8/Ftr4 with Practiced Spellcaster could have a caster level of 12, without actually being a caster of at least 12th level (under one possible reading of the phrase).

For items that aren't armor, shields, or weapons, though, the errata make it clear that it's not necessary to have the caster level listed in the item. A 3rd level wizard with Craft Wondrous Item can, in theory, craft a 9th level Pearl of Power as long as he has 2025 xp and 40500 gp to spare...

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:


pallandrome said:
Nope, this would be one of those "Exception to the rule" cases. Rules specific to each item always takes precidence.

But if we take "Caster of at least 12th level" to mean CL 12, then the rule specific to the item is that the creator must be CL12, taking precedence over the rule that the caster level of weapon special abilities is listed in the item description, and the higher of the two caster level requirements (the other being 3 x enhancement bonus) must be met.

In other words, the specific rule that you need CL12 takes precedence over the general rule for weapon abilities that you need the listed CL... in this case, 12.

-Hyp.
 

Ki Ryn said:
I've read through the book and am fairly sure that the "Caster Level" listed for wonderous items is NOT a preprequsite for creation, but I wanted to make sure before I bring it up in my group.

It is not a prerequisite.
 

I think this was clarified either in the FAQ or the errata. Let me see here...


From the Errata

Caster Level
Dungeon' Master's Guide, page 215
Problem: The last two sentences in the section on caster level are ambiguous and potentially misleading.
Solution: Replace with this text: For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the creator. The minimum caster level is that which is needed to meet the prerequisites given.

If you can meet the requirements to craft a magic item, you can craft it.

If a magic item states CL 12, and you meet all the requirements to craft the item at L10 (somehow), you can craft the item. HOWEVER, the caster level for your item crafted at L10 will be CL10, not CL12.

A prime example of this is thhe artificer class from the Eberron Campaign Setting.

...an artificer’s effective caster level equals his artificer level +2.

Meaning a L3 Artificer, who has Craft Wondrous Items as a feat, and can emulate spells as if his caster level was 5th, can craft a Necklace of Fireballs. HOWEVER, the artificer uses his normal CL to determine the CL of the effects, so all beads on the necklace of fireballs would be 3d6 damage. How you would determine the Base cost of this would be an entirely different story.
 

Remove ads

Top