Does a reroll get the same bonus/penalty as the parent roll?

Stalker0

Legend
Let's say I have something that gives me +2 to my next attack roll. I make the roll, miss, and decide to use a reroll ability. Do I still have the +2 bonus (its the same attack roll, just a reroll), or not (completely new attack roll)

Same with penalties, can I use a reroll to negate a penalty to my next attack roll?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Let's say I have something that gives me +2 to my next attack roll. I make the roll, miss, and decide to use a reroll ability. Do I still have the +2 bonus (its the same attack roll, just a reroll), or not (completely new attack roll)

Same with penalties, can I use a reroll to negate a penalty to my next attack roll?

Other games I've played with rerolls, the reroll is subject to every modifier the original roll was, and perhaps additional ones. I believe the intent is for a reroll to just change what the die shows, and perhaps add a bonus in the case of elves with feats.
 

Other games I've played with rerolls, the reroll is subject to every modifier the original roll was, and perhaps additional ones. I believe the intent is for a reroll to just change what the die shows, and perhaps add a bonus in the case of elves with feats.

This is always how I've played it, but now that I look I can't find any rules to justify my interpretation (or contradict it for that matter).
 

This is always how I've played it, but now that I look I can't find any rules to justify my interpretation (or contradict it for that matter).

Same -- that's how I've always played it (keep all modifiers, just replacing the d20's number). Though, at mention in this thread, I looked but could not find any reason for or against that interpretation.
 

Same. I can't imagine it working the other way, but it just goes to show that no rule is so obvious that it can go unstated.
 


Other games I've played with rerolls, the reroll is subject to every modifier the original roll was, and perhaps additional ones. I believe the intent is for a reroll to just change what the die shows, and perhaps add a bonus in the case of elves with feats.

Yep, me too.

The text of Elven Accuracy specifies that you "reroll an attack roll" (emphasis mine). So I'd say that it counts, in all ways except for the number on the die, as the first roll.
 


Let's say I have something that gives me +2 to my next attack roll. I make the roll, miss, and decide to use a reroll ability. Do I still have the +2 bonus (its the same attack roll, just a reroll), or not (completely new attack roll)

Same with penalties, can I use a reroll to negate a penalty to my next attack roll?

You shouldn't be able to 'reroll' in order to shake off penalties, nor should you lose relevant bonuses by rerolling . . .

So yeah, those are my opinions as to why I agree with everyone else posting in this thread so far :)

~
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top