Does Acid Fog Stack?

From the SRD:
MagicOverview.rtf said:
Same Effect More than Once in Different Strengths: In cases when two or more identical spells are operating in the same area or on the same target, but at different strengths, only the best one applies.
Instantaneous Effects: Two or more spells with instantaneous durations work cumulatively when they affect the same target

I think if 2 identical spells operate on the same target, only one works... period... Of course, say you have 2 Acid Fogs, that both cover the same area, only one will deal damage, but you can roll for damage for both spells, and take the highest result.

As for Acid Arrow, I think it works the same way... multiple Acid Arrows on the same subject won't cause more damage (other than taking the highest result from multiple damage rolls).

One spell popular for overlapping effects was Meteor Swarm. It specifically states in its description that if a target is stuck within multiple blasts, it can be affected by all of them. Of course, this is the effects of a single spell.

As for all other spells, if you subject one target to multiple occurances of the same spell, you don't stack damage. Ever. Not for Wall of Fire, not for Ice Storm...

Slim
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Magic Slim said:
As for Acid Arrow, I think it works the same way... multiple Acid Arrows on the same subject won't cause more damage (other than taking the highest result from multiple damage rolls).

But your quote from the SRD is a subheading under:

Stacking Effects: Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves.

----

Damage is not a bonus or penalty. I'm not sure that the "Same Effect More than Once in Different Strengths" quote is relevant.

... but I'm not certain it isn't, either :)

-Hyp.
 


Bonuses sometimes stack and sometimes overlap.

Damage always stacks. There is no record anywhere that I can think of where a character gets hit twice and does not take damage from both sources, with the possible exception of ability score damage from ray of enfeeblement. The stack/overlap rule only applies to bonuses.

So the damage from 2+ Acid Fogs in the same area would stack. Just as the damage from 2+ fireballs, 2+lightning bolts, etc.

The only objection I could think of is some DM saying you can't have 2 objects in the same place at the same time, even if they are both gaseous objects. In which case, one of the Acid Fogs would simply not appear. But in "real life" you can certainly increase the concentration of gas in an area, and it will have an increased effect. I see no reason why Acid Fog would be different in D&D.
 

Particle_Man said:
Damage always stacks. There is no record anywhere that I can think of where a character gets hit twice and does not take damage from both sources, with the possible exception of ability score damage from ray of enfeeblement.

Ray of Enfeeblement doesn't deal damage, it imposes a penalty.

-Hyp.
 

The old FAQ had an answer to a similar question that said: Damage always "stacks".

Just imagine two spellcasters casting it... at eachs turn, the respective cloud will deal damage.
 
Last edited:

Hypersmurf said:
But your quote from the SRD is a subheading under:

Stacking Effects: Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves.

---

Damage is not a bonus or penalty. I'm not sure that the "Same Effect More than Once in Different Strengths" quote is relevant.

I'll second that. Further above in the SRD, you find the general rule:
from the SRD said:
Spells or magical effects usually work as described, no matter how many other spells or magical effects happen to be operating in the same area or on the same recipient. Except in special cases, a spell does not affect the way another spell operates.

The stacking rules are these "special cases", and they apply ONLY to "Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes". Damage is neither bonuses nor penalty, and so it is just dealt. There no such thing as "stacking" damage, because the stacking rule does not apply.
So yes, two Acid Fogs deal damage each turn, as do two Acid Arrows or two fireballs. It does not matter if the damage is instantaneous or continous.

paranoid.
 

Particle_Man said:
So the damage from 2+ Acid Fogs in the same area would stack. Just as the damage from 2+ fireballs, 2+lightning bolts, etc.

The SRD specifically states that multiple instantaneous spells on the same target affect said target. Acid Fog isn't instantaneous. That's why IMO that quote isn't valid...

MagicOvervier.rtf (3.5) said:
Instantaneous Effects: Two or more spells with instantaneous durations work cumulatively when they affect the same target.
 

Darklone said:
The old FAQ had an answer to a similar question that said: Damage always "stacks".

Just imagine two spellcasters casting it... at eachs turn, the respective cloud will deal damage.

I'd love to see that quote... went through the 3.0 FAQ (well, the Magic section anyways) and didn't see anything there. I'll check again. I'm tempted to contact the Sage, but since almost no one here respects his answers... :)

Slim
 

Magic Slim said:
The SRD specifically states that multiple instantaneous spells on the same target affect said target. Acid Fog isn't instantaneous. That's why IMO that quote isn't valid...

You're still quoting the section on stacking bonuses and penalties.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top