Does the Sword Marshall PP AP feature recover BOTH uses of Inspiring Word?

Bit off topic, but our party is in the throws of the end of our campaign (2 years of DMing coming to an end!!!) and are fighting a god. Our warlord has 3 uses of inspiring word, Fight on for another. Then there is another feat that allows Inspiring word to apply to 2 players per use.

He also has an epic attack power that when used regains all inspiring words..

Thats 16 heals at +6d6+13 (all bonus's in) per encounter.

Not to mention he has another feat that grants all allies temp hp (I think its 10 per use).

Suffice to say, he a brute of a healer.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

There is an argument that can be made that knowing that it was errata'd out is illustrative of the fact that it was possible and RAW before, but clearly not RAI.
Agreed, to the limited extent that designers can foresee (and therefore intend) all the consequences of an addition to the game. Personally, with the mountain of moving parts that 4e has, I think designers don't have a chance in hell of foreseeing all the possible interactions. Therefore, it becomes difficult to argue whether some consequence was intended or not.

But I agree with the spirit of what you're saying.

However, I have some question about the way the special line is written:

Special: You can use this power twice per encounter, but only once per round. At 16th level, you can use inspiring word three times per encounter.

It does not say, you gain two uses of this power. It says you can use it twice per encounter. I question whether this means even if you regained the "use" of the power, if you could actually... use it.

If RAI is "you gain two uses of this power", then IMO it would recover both.
Since RAW seems to be "you can use this twice per encounter" (meaning twice and ONLY twice) then I would say it can be recovered, but not used, which may seem counter-intuitive, but fits the language.
This is certainly the question, and thanks for spelling it out.

If you want to be cavillous (and fourth edition has a tendency to), stating that one can do something is not the same as saying that one cannot do something the balance of that thing. For example, saying that you can count to ten does not mean that you couldn't count further. In addition, the interpretation that the use of the power is ABSOLUTELY limited to those uses would prohibit any exceptions adding more uses, and we know there's a feat that adds another use, so this is probably not the correct take.

On the other hand, in normal conversation, if mommy says you can have two and you take three, you're asking for it. Therefore, in a less demanding context, saying "you can use this power twice" would mean that you can only use it twice, unless you had a real good diplomacy skill.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top