Dragon Breath Recharge Question

kreynolds said:


So you do indeed think that you can wait 1 round without waiting 1 round? Can you explain?

I understand your interpretation is different, but mine is that acting on the next round does satisfy the requirement of "waiting" one round. As Quidam has mentioned, "wait" isn't a defined action and is open to interpretation.

We all know what the SRD says (3rd post of the thread). We all know what the MMII says (4th post of the thread). Ignoring the text of the MMII is a one-sided argument.

I included the SRD quote as no-one had yet mentioned the second sentance. I thought the MMII quote was amply mentioned and did not feel the need to go over it again, although in my defense, I'd note that the SRD has been updated since the publication of MMII and should probably be considered more authoritative (IMHO).
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I'd note that the SRD has been updated since the publication of MMII and should probably be considered more authoritative (IMHO).

I can't think of any circumstances where I'd consider the SRD more authoritive than a printed rulebook :)

However, based on every quote about breath weapons except the MMII one, I feel that it's the MMII that has the aberrant text.

If it made kreynolds feel better, I'd perhaps allow him to convince me that dragons from Monster Manual II can only breathe once every 1d4+1 rounds.

Perhaps.

-Hyp.
 

demiurgeastaroth said:
You take you action. You wait till your next action, one round later, and act again. Simple, is it not? ;)

Except that there was no waiting. Simple. ;)

demiurgeastaroth said:
If it's referring to the creature, then 'wait' means 'wait' - you don't act, at all. If you do something else, like attack with claws, you aren't waiting. You're acting.

No. The text does not imply paralysis of any kind. It is in regards to using a breath weapon. You're only muddying the matter by claiming total non-action is implied with one use of the word "wait", while the other use of the word "wait" obviously leans in your favor, and I can't see, in any way at all, how total non-action is implied.
 

Quidam said:
Simply saying "simple logic" to me won't be enough to change my mind.

Then with simple logic, or otherwise, explain how you can "wait 1 round to breathe again" and still breathe in the same round you are waiting. How can you wait 1 round when you don't wait?

The text in the MM is pretty clear to me that if a dragon rolls a 1, it can breathe the very next round. However, the text in MMII is pretty clear to me that if a dragon rolls a 1, it must wait 1 round before it can breathe again, and since you can't wait and not wait in the same round, that means you have one round in which you can't breath until the next.

I'm not saying that the MMII text trumps the MMI text. I'm also not saying that the MMI text trumps the MMII text. I'm simply arguing that the MMII text is clear about needing to "wait", and that you can't breathe and wait to breathe in the same round.
 
Last edited:

Hypersmurf said:
However, based on every quote about breath weapons except the MMII one, I feel that it's the MMII that has the aberrant text.

Yup. It's the only one that strays from the norm.

Hypersmurf said:
If it made kreynolds feel better, I'd perhaps allow him to convince me that dragons from Monster Manual II can only breathe once every 1d4+1 rounds.

I have no need to feel better. I never said that the text in the MMII trumped the SRD or the MMI. I simply pointed out that they were different. Then when someone stated that there was no conflict, I asserted that there was. I've since been supporting my standpoint that a conflict exists. Nothing more and nothing less.
 

If they didn't put in this restriction, then a hasted dragon could breathe twice in the same round. Breathing is a standard action, so any method that gained an extra partial action for the dragon could enable it to breathe twice in one round.

However, if it must wait one round before breathing again, then the earliest it can breath again after the current round is after one round has passed. If it breathes in round one, then it must wait until one round has passed.

When round two comes about, that condition will have been satisfied.

I'm almost certain this is the intent of the rules, and this is how I'll continue playing it.

Daniel
 

Pielorinho said:
However, if it must wait one round before breathing again, then the earliest it can breath again after the current round is after one round has passed. If it breathes in round one, then it must wait until one round has passed.

When round two comes about, that condition will have been satisfied.

Except that it didn't wait one round. It breathed in round 1 then again in round 2. It never waited.
 

kreynolds, maybe it's a regional thing, but "wait 1 (unit of time)" means, where I'm from, "wait until the next (unit of time)." If I tell you to wait one day before replying to this post, I would expect you to post tomorrow, not Wednesday.

Similarly, if I told someone they had to wait one round before using a power they'd just used, I'd expect them to use the power the next round.

This is a linguistic thing. If you understand the language differently from how I understand it, I'm not sure there's much else to say. But I'm absolutely certain that where I'm from, the way I've described language use prevails.

Daniel
 

Pielorinho said:
If I tell you to wait one day before replying to this post, I would expect you to post tomorrow, not Wednesday.

Sadly, TRW isn't goverened by hard and fast rules, such as the d20 system. ;) I do get your drift though. I just don't see the relevance of your comparison.

Besides, if it was as simple as you say, then Riggs and Murtaugh (sp?) never would have gotten into this argument...

"Wait, wait, wait...on 3? Or 1, 2, 3, then go?"

Pielorinho said:
If you understand the language differently from how I understand it, I'm not sure there's much else to say.

Nah. I just disagree with what you think "wait 1 round" means. Here's the way it appears to me...

"until 1 round later" = you can breathe next round
"wait 1 round" = you can breathe again after you have waited one round, and if you just breathed last round, then you didn't wait one round
 
Last edited:

If they didn't put in this restriction, then a hasted dragon could breathe twice in the same round. Breathing is a standard action, so any method that gained an extra partial action for the dragon could enable it to breathe twice in one round.

Yeah - that was what I figured the "wait one round" was intended to cover.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top