Drawing ammunition - AoO?


log in or register to remove this ad


No, it's not an action by itself, it's included in firing a ranged weapon. However, firing a ranged weapon itself provokes AOO, each time you fire the bow.
 

IMHO... nope.

It's part of the (ranged attack) action as much as a ranged touch attack is part of a spellcasting action and does not provoke by itself (see Warlock and Eldritch Blast thread).

Bye
Thanee
 

The Warlock and Eldritch Blast thread is what prompted this question. There it was argued by the resident rules-gurus that casting a range attack spell provoked two AoO - one for casting, one for the attack.

Quasqueton
 


The SRD said:
Draw or Sheathe a Weapon

Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.

If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw two light or one-handed weapons in the time it would normally take you to draw one.

Drawing ammunition for use with a ranged weapon (such as arrows, bolts, sling bullets, or shuriken) is a free action.
Drawing ammunition is a subset of the action "draw a weapon", which does not provoke an attack of opportunity.
 
Last edited:



Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top