Duskblade channeling Shocking Grasp

0-hr

Starship Cartographer
If a low-level Duskblade uses arcane channeling with Shocking Grasp, swings and misses, is the Shocking Grasp still there for next round's attack?

In other words, can a Duskblade 'hold the charge' with their weapon like they would if the spell being used as normal (through their hand) or does using the Arcane Channeling cut the duration short? I'm talking about the low level version here.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Infiniti2000 said:
Yes, I think so. I don't see anything that would contradict the rules on holding the charge for touch spells.


Either do I, but then I thought Scorching Ray was a touch spell :uhoh:

(would it have killed them to say "spell with a range of touch" rather than just "touch spell"?)
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Yes, I think so. I don't see anything that would contradict the rules on holding the charge for touch spells.
This is also supported by the limitation on the 13th level upgrade for that ability.

Cheers, -- N
 

From the FAQ:

When a duskblade (Player’s Handbook II, 20) uses arcane channeling to deliver a spell but misses with the weapon attack, is the spell discharged or can he try to deliver the spell again on his next turn?

This follows the normal rule for touch spells; that is, a melee touch spell that misses its target is not discharged.

However, when using the improved version of this class feature gained at 13th level, the spell is discharged at the end of the round regardless of whether you hit or not (as described on page 20).
 


Remove ads

Top