Duskblades and Somatic components

Corsair

First Post
To make use of Arcane Channeling, are you essentially required to only use one handed weapons and light (or no) shield? That cuts down a lot of the combat options, and makes the Armored Mage [heavy shield] ability feel somewhat worthless. Am I reading this correctly? What about using two handed weapons? Does the same liability apply?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


In a by the rules interpretation, you're right. A duskblade would have to be able to hold a weapon in his off hand in order to cast, so no heavy shield.

My opinion? I'd let him use the sword as a somatic component.
 

Usually, you can let go of a two handed weapon with one hand in order to cast. Look at wizards and quarterstaffs
 




Krafen said:
All the DMs I know do. :)
Interesting. I don't think any of the DMs I know do. I definitely don't.

As for the duskblade and channeling, as written I'd say you do need a free hand for somatic components. Peronally, I'd allow the spell to be cast without a free hand by letting the weapon movement fill in the somatic components, but that's a house rule.
 



Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top