ECL+ races : do they get level benefits?

reapersaurus

Explorer
If I play a +3 ECL Half-Celestial/Fighter1....

a) How much money do they have?
b) Do they get the attribute bonus from being a level 4 character?
c) Where is this explicitly stated?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

A) As a 4th level character.
B) When you hit the 4th LEVEL. Everything in regards to feats, class abilities, and level abilities are determined by your actual levels. Your ECL spesificly effects your XP and Wealth (Ie, your fighter is treated like a 4th level character regarding Xp and Wealth, so he'd hit 2nd level when he gets 10,000 xp, and should have a 5th level character's equipment).
C) The FRCS.
 
Last edited:

1) 6d4x10 gold.

2) No, because he is not a level 4 character, but a level 1 character with a +3 ECL template applied to him.

3) DMG, pages 22-23. A template must be applied to a creature with at least one class level. The template adds no levels to the base creature, just a bunch of special abilities.
 

If using the core rules "level equivalents", then the answers are:

(a) Normal for a 1st level character.
(b) No, 1 HD = effective 1st level.
(c) DMG p. 24, paragraphs 3 and 4.
 

Dr. Zoom said:
1) 6d4x10 gold.

No.

The way you make characters over 1st level is, the DM does NOT say "you are X level" -- rather, the DM says "you get X experience points and Y gold pieces"; a a shortcut, the DM can specify a level ... in which case, everyone gets the XP needed to bring a human characetr to that level,a nd the wealth levels specified in the DMG on page 43.

This rule was clarified in the FRCS hardcover; IIRC, that rules section was presented AS a clarification, not a setting-specific rule. That fact is supported by the ELH, which is inherently non-setting-specific in nature.

3) DMG, pages 22-23. A template must be applied to a creature with at least one class level. The template adds no levels to the base creature, just a bunch of special abilities.

One class level or one "monster" level -- monsters / races that begin play with more than one HD do not need a PHB class level to have a template applied.
 

Pax said:
This rule was clarified in the FRCS hardcover; IIRC, that rules section was presented AS a clarification, not a setting-specific rule. That fact is supported by the ELH, which is inherently non-setting-specific in nature.

I'd be hard pressed to call such a stipulation a "clarification" when it's directly in contradiction with the DMG p. 24: "A creature with class levels has equipment worth an amount based on the total of those class levels." Also, NPC races on DMG p. 57-58 do not add any extra equipment over the NPC's class level specification on p. 49-57.

Call it an extra-errata change or correction, if one must.
 


It's true, It's true. The FRCS is correct. ECL does mean effective character level after all. If you play a character with an ECL of +3 then they are already concidered a third level character before any class levels are added. Everything is figured as if that character was a third level character plus class levels, whatever they may be.

BTW, the ECL for a half-celestial is +5. *inno*
That was erratad somewhere, forget where, but think about it, +3 is just like way too small for a race that is immune to 3 or 4 energy types, gets sweet ability mods, and is immune to poison and gets a whole chunk of spell like abilities.
 
Last edited:



Remove ads

Top