Elemental Savant (Earth)

Seule

Explorer
My memory (don't have my books at work) says that the Elemental Savant PrC requires 5 spells to be known with the element's descriptor, among other requirements.
I did a search for officially approved spells with the Acid descriptor, and these are the ones I found:

Level 1
Lesser Acid Orb - Evc - T&B, pg. 92

Level 2
Melf's Acid Arrow - Con - PHB, pg. 227

Level 4
Acid Orb - Evc - T&B, pg. 85

Level 6
Acid Fog - Con - PHB, pg. 172

There were also some spells from the Magic of Faerun book, but my game does not use anything from FR. Basically, the PTB have made a PrC that in one configuration (Earth) cannot be taken by arcane casters. Can anyone confirm that my memory is right, that I haven't missed any spells, and that there aren't any loopholes I hadn't considered?

--Seule
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Acid Splash
- Level: Sor/Wiz 0
- School: Conjuration
- Descriptor: Acid
- MoF pg76


This next one may be a bit of a reach... Correct me if I'm wrong & I'm sure you all will but doesn't it say somewhere in T&B that...

Ray of Frost (fire, acid, ect. ect. ect.)
- Level: Sor/Wiz 0, Wuj 0
- School: Conjuration
- Descriptor: Cold (or any other element)
- Reference: PHB 243

Can be altered to substitute any element ie) Acid?
 


Mabye they assumed some spell research... would strike me as odd if you could take a in a game you couldn't even research your own spells in. Though I suppose it's more of an oversight, really... (then again, I'd think that would be caught in playtesting).
 

Not unlike prestidi..jimon...iroony..toony.. tation (sp?) can be used to spice food. You could create a 0 level spell called "twist of lime" that's used to add a citrus flavour to drinks & cocktails (it'll have the acid descriptor of course.) :D
 

My memory (don't have my books at work) says that the Elemental Savant PrC requires 5 spells to be known with the element's descriptor, among other requirements.

If I'm not mistaken, you're only required to have 5 spells with an (not the!) elemental descriptor. Fireball would count, as would any other elemental attack.
 

AEtherfyre said:


If I'm not mistaken, you're only required to have 5 spells with an (not the!) elemental descriptor. Fireball would count, as would any other elemental attack.

I myself am without me T&B, but I think its spells with the elemental descriptor of your chosen element.
 

Well, the campaign in question is Living Greyhawk, and with the current rulings, it's not possible to take the PrC, unless I'm mistaken about the prereqs. If I'm not, and I'm still hoping someone with a T&B handy can check, I'll be posting to the main LG email list asking what I should do.

--Seule
 

We had similiar problems in one game I was in. we just switched the elemental discriptors around as previuosly suggested. We had a Ice ball and Bolt of cold for our wind savant.

later
 

AEtherfyre said:
If I'm not mistaken, you're only required to have 5 spells with an (not the!) elemental descriptor. Fireball would count, as would any other elemental attack.

You are correct:

From Tome and Blood:
Spells: Ability to cast at least three spells with one of the acid, cold, electricity, or fire descriptors and at least one summon spell. At least one of these spells must be 3rd level or higher. Alternatively, the character must be able to cast at least one spell of 3rd level or higher and have access to one of the following clerical domains: Air, Earth, Fire, or Water.

It doesn't state that only your chosen element is applicable.
 

Remove ads

Top