Empowered Enfeeblment

0-hr

Starship Cartographer
If a 10th level caster double empowers a Ray of Enfeeblement, does it do (d6+5)x2 or does it do (d6x2)+5 ?

Ray of Enfeeblement

A coruscating ray springs from the character's hand. The
character must succeed at a ranged touch attack to strike a
target. The subject suffers a -1d6 enhancement penalty to
Strength, with an additional -1 per two caster levels
(maximum additional penalty of -5). The subjects
Strength score cannot drop below 1.
Empower Spell

Benefit: All variable, numeric effects of an empowered spell
are increased by one-half. An empowered spell deals half again as
much damage as normal, cures half again as many hit points,
affects half again as many targets, etc., as appropriate. Saving
throws and opposed rolls (such as the one the character makes
when the character casts dispel magic) are not affected. Spells
without random variables are not affected. An empowered spell
uses up a spell slot two levels higher than the spells
actual level.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


1d6)*2+5

Magic missle (the example in the PHB) includes the +1 when it is empowered because that is part of the variable (2-5). A ray of enfeeblements variable is 1d6.
 

DarkJester said:
1d6)*2+5

Magic missle (the example in the PHB) includes the +1 when it is empowered because that is part of the variable (2-5). A ray of enfeeblements variable is 1d6.
I would argue the variable for 1d6+5 is 6 to 11. So the double empowered ray of enfeeblement should be (1d6+5)x2.
 

Dr. Zoom said:

I would argue the variable for 1d6+5 is 6 to 11. So the double empowered ray of enfeeblement should be (1d6+5)x2.

And you'd be right. The examples in the Player's Handbook make this quite clear. Note "An empowered spell ... cures half again as many hit points," for example. This wouldn't be so if the level-dependent component of a cure spell were not included in the calculation.

The "variable, numeric effect" is whatever number is generated using a die roll, not just the component of that number which is attributable directly to those dice, and no other interpretation is consistent with the text. This is, I believe, discussed in the FAQ.

Despite that, it remains a very common question.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top