hafrogman
Adventurer
Pyrex said:Huh?
Emphasis mine.
Not only *does* it say it provides a field of force, but it uses Mage Armor as the base spell.
I understand the LOGIC behind it, but the emphasised bit is flavor. The actual rule portion doesn't say "granting him an armor bonus, just as though he were under the effect of the mage armor spell" It says "as though he were wearing armor". The spell requirement is not a statement of effect, just what you need to make it.
As I said, not arguing the logic at all. It makes perfect sense. But it's still open to interpretation, and therefore Endur's choice.