Energy Adaptation and Immediate Action

takasi said:
Evasion is considered an augmentation of a saving throw. Saving throws are nonactions. The dragon's action specifically allows a saving throw.



I agree. However, simply because it is instantaneous doesn't mean it can be declared retroactively. The point I was making about quickening is related to the dragon's breath, not the augmentation.

You said earlier: "The dragon's breath dealing damage isn't an instantaneous quantum event measured in nanoseconds." But what if it is? If it's quickened then it is exactly that. So can a psion manifests energy adaptation as an immediate action once a quickened breath weapon is produced?

Can anyone answer this: does an immediate action, from the rules as written, allow a player to declare, retroactively, an action after another creature has acted to change the other creature's action?

Here's the point that I don't think you are getting. Dragon Breaths. Character decides to immediate action the Energy Adaptation, then damage is resolved.

It is like with action points, we decide to roll and use them, after the die roll to hit but before you tell us the resulting in hit or miss.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

What if it's a quickened breath weapon?

Or a trap that is instantaneous?

What if the immediate action is to move to a specific square based on where the DM declares the monster moves to?

How do you resolve situations where two creatures have immediate actions available? Which one gets to go first and why?
 

wildstarsreach said:
It is like with action points, we decide to roll and use them, after the die roll to hit but before you tell us the resulting in hit or miss.

Like evasion, action points are an augmentation of an existing action (in this case an addition to any d20 roll). They are not immediate actions.
 

takasi said:
What if it's a quickened breath weapon?

Or a trap that is instantaneous?

What if the immediate action is to move to a specific square based on where the DM declares the monster moves to?

How do you resolve situations where two creatures have immediate actions available? Which one gets to go first and why?

Why would it matter if the breath weapon was quickened? What constitutes an instantaneous trap?

In the case of your third point, presumably he activates the immediate action in response to the DM moving the monster - I'm not sure how this one breaks anything, but I'm also not sure which immediate action you're referring to.

Order of resolution would only matter if two immediate actions were responding to the same thing, and had the possibility of invalidating the option for the other creature's immediate action, right? I will assume for now that such a situation is possible with the existing immediate actions out there. The rules don't specify a 'tiebreaker' rule. As DM, I would probably declare the 'active' creature goes first (the one who's turn it is) and then go to initiative order, or something similar.
 

An example of an immediate action power that definately can be used as a response to an attack.

SRD said:
Intellect Fortress
Psychokinesis
Level: Psion/wilder 4
Display: Auditory
Manifesting Time: 1 immediate action
Range: 20 ft.
Area: 20-ft.-radius spread centered on you
Duration: 1 round
Saving Throw: None
Power Resistance: Yes
Power Points: 7

You encase yourself and your allies in a shimmering fortress of telekinetic force. All damage from powers and psi-like abilities taken by subjects inside the area of the intellect fortress, including ability damage, is halved. This lowering takes place prior to the effects of other powers or abilities that lessen damage, such as damage reduction and evasion.

Powers that are not subject to power resistance are not affected by an intellect fortress.

You can manifest this power instantly, quickly enough to gain its benefits in an emergency. Manifesting the power is an immediate action. You can use this power even when it’s not your turn.

Augment

For every additional power point you spend, this power’s duration increases by 1 round.

Based on the way it's written, it implies that Immediate actions are quick enough to gain the benefits from the power before resolving an enemy's attack.
 

I consider immediate actions to be like reflexes, since you can take them even if it's not your "turn."

So since you can make a reflex SAVE, doesn't it stand to reason that this action, whcih is akin to a reflexive action, also being allowed?

I think the problem is a perception problem, not so much a rules problem.

If the DM says "the dragon breathes fire, you take 70 points of damage on a failed save, half on success", well, the DM hasn't given any time to react.

Even if the action is "quickened" - it still uses a small amount of time - enough time for you to get in a reflexive action. Quickened does not mean "so fast you can't even see it!"
 

Immediate action are essentially "free actions" you can take when it is not your turn.

The ONLY action that lets you interrupt another action is the "Ready" action.

That seems pretty reasonable and straightforward to me.

May I ask what immediate actions become useless if they are not allowed to interrupt another action?
 

takasi said:
I disagree. If the action is declared after another action has happened then you are retroactively changing the original event.
Huh? Declaring an action is irrelevant and explains why you are missing the point. This question is about when an action is taken--i.e. can it interrupt other actions.

You are not changing the event at all. The breathing happens, but the power can be manifested before it completes (after it starts)--exactly like a counterspell. Even better since you can counterspell an instantaneous quickened spell with a standard action spell.
 

Immediate actions absolutely can interrupt other actions... at least, some immediate actions can.

Consider the psionic power Evade Burst, which is an immediate action and you can ONLY use when interrupting someone elses action.

Also note Prowess, Thought Shield, Empty Mind, Tower of Iron Will, and many more. In fact, I can't find a psionic power with a manifesting time of 1 immediate action that DOESN'T have the "quickly enough to gain its benefits in an emergency." or some other more specific message in it, except those where its augmentable only.

This leads me to believe that the text is clarifying only, and the immediate action allows you to interrupt other actions.

As for feather fall, saying that falling takes time is the same as saying that the fire takes time to reach you. In both cases, the game doesn't model the time. Why assume one exists and the other doesn't?

--
gnfnrf
 


Remove ads

Top