Entering a Web

Infiniti2000 said:
That won't be possible as we've received very distressing news today about my father-in-law, but I'll try to stay positive. Thanks, though, and you have a nice day as well. :)

sorry to hear that :( i hope things work out in time.

i can envision all sorts of possible aswers to the initial post. personally i think the threads remain sticky ergo if one walks in willingly he becomes entangled and if pushed in he gets a save but i can also see the spell as a surprise when it first appears and later just isnt as sticky as it was ergo no save needed. but does it matter? we disscused it to death and each formed his own opinion, lets move on shall we?
Z
 

log in or register to remove this ad

KarinsDad said:
Here are my two rules. My position follows both of them.
I'll provide three more rules:

Rule #3: If this save succeeds, the creature is entangled, but not prevented from moving, though moving is more difficult than normal for being entangled (see below).

Rule #4: Once loose (either by making the initial Reflex save or a later Strength check or Escape Artist check), a creature remains entangled, but may move through the web very slowly. Each round devoted to moving allows the creature to make a new Strength check or Escape Artist check. The creature moves 5 feet for each full 5 points by which the check result exceeds 10.

Rule #5: Saving Throw: Reflex negates; see text

For completeness, I'll include the following rule (unused by either of us, but note they are out of order):

Rule #6: If the save fails, the creature is entangled and can’t move from its space, but can break loose by spending 1 round and making a DC 20 Strength check or a DC 25 Escape Artist check.

Your points 1 and 2 I agree with. Your point 3 is the one I disagree with because it is incomplete. It should be modified as follows:

3) The spell says movement rules for moving through while within when a saving throw is made.

You ignore the "when the spell is cast" rule.
Yes.

You use the "If this save succeeds" rule to infer a save must exist. The "when the spell is cast" rule trumps that rule. Why? Because if there is no save, then there is no what happens if you save or do not save clause.
I can agree with that, which leads us to the third option, but certainly not to your interpretation.
This concept that you have a rule when I do not is totally invalid, made up, and ignores the facts. I have two rules, you have one.
Actually, you have 1, not counting the web spell (as I pointed out before). Only now do you claim to use the same one I claimed supported my side. (Without the one for the web spell and the one you only now adopt as supporting your side, it would be zero.) However, I've provided three more above (since we're using the web spell after all), so I'm in the lead 4-2. :p

You cannot just ignore this sentence as if it does not exist. No other sentence in the spell description trjmps this with regard to whether a save is made or not. It IS the sentence on whether to make a save.
There should be no trumping of any rules. You're effectively arguing to trump TWO rules while I'm arguing to trump ONE. You have yet to show substantiation why you are allowed to trump TWO rules. You are not arguing for your interpretation, you are only arguing against mine. Please explain to me why you don't require a save and yet still use the two rules clearly predicated on a saving throw. I have not heard any arguments in that respect despite my repeated requests.

Let's follow through the process of adjudicating this: A new combatant Bill gets bull rushed into an existing web.

A. We start with Rule #2 that requires he be subject to the spell.

B. We then read the spell and find no clear indication of what happens to a a new combatant. We find that he is entangled (we all agree on this I hope) and the bit about the flaming web, but the main paragraph is the problem area.

C. We then get to rule #1, the first part of the main paragraph and find that no save is required. Or does it? What does Rule #5 mean? Looking in the paragraph further we find that the "see text" means that "Reflex negates" is not entirely true. If you make the save, you do not entirely negate the spell as per the rule on negating, namely "The spell has no effect on a subject that makes a successful saving throw." Surely, then, the "see text" on Rule #5 modifies the "negates" and not the requirement of a saving throw. This directly IMO contradicts the text (and I don't think that's a good thing or in anyone's favor quite honestly).

D. So, Rule #5 indicates that a save is required for the spell effect. At this point, we have one of two choices. The first is to throw out the entire main paragraph because it is predicated upon a save made only when cast (Rule #1) (valid interpretation). The second is to use the main paragraph and ignore Rule #2 (my interpretation). (choice three now that I think about it) The third choice is to require a save for the entangled effect such that reflex negates and still ignore the main paragraph (valid interpretation, but too bizarre to seriously consider).

E. Another option is to ignore Rules 3, 4, and 5 and read the main paragraph assuming a successful save (your interpretation).

PS. Hopefully, my argument is cogent and I have shown that I'm not here just to hear myself arguing. I think I have provided substantial evidence to prove my case. Can you at least agree to the third option (i.e. entangled but no other movement rules)?
 

Infiniti2000 said:
I'll provide three more rules:

Rule #3: If this save succeeds, the creature is entangled, but not prevented from moving, though moving is more difficult than normal for being entangled (see below).

No save, no rule #3. This rule does not change the fact that the save is conditional.

Infiniti2000 said:
Rule #4: Once loose (either by making the initial Reflex save or a later Strength check or Escape Artist check), a creature remains entangled, but may move through the web very slowly. Each round devoted to moving allows the creature to make a new Strength check or Escape Artist check. The creature moves 5 feet for each full 5 points by which the check result exceeds 10.

This rule has merit. But, you are focusing on the wrong portion of it.

No save, no part of rule #4. This rule does not change the fact that the save is conditional.

Instead, we focus on the part that the save does not necessarily apply to:

Each round devoted to moving allows the creature to make a new Strength check or Escape Artist check. The creature moves 5 feet for each full 5 points by which the check result exceeds 10.

Except for the word "new" here (a remnant of the fact that the author did not consider the enter from outside case), this does indicate what happens because it talks specifically about moving.

Infiniti2000 said:
Rule #5: Saving Throw: Reflex negates; see text

No save, no rule #5. This rule does not change the fact that the save is conditional.

Infiniti2000 said:
For completeness, I'll include the following rule (unused by either of us, but note they are out of order):

Rule #6: If the save fails, the creature is entangled and can’t move from its space, but can break loose by spending 1 round and making a DC 20 Strength check or a DC 25 Escape Artist check.

No save, no rule #6. This rule does not change the fact that the save is conditional.

Infiniti2000 said:
...

PS. Hopefully, my argument is cogent and I have shown that I'm not here just to hear myself arguing. I think I have provided substantial evidence to prove my case. Can you at least agree to the third option (i.e. entangled but no other movement rules)?

Prove is a strong and invalid word for what you have done. You have illustrated your case. Most of what you quoted is irrelevant since it still hinges on ignoring the fact that the save only occurs when the spell is cast. In fact, most of your position hinges on ignoring that sentence.

The portion that lends any credence to your position is the concept of "once loose".

Combined with the "save only when cast" rule, that could indicate that nobody else is affected by the Web at all (which is a distinct possibility) or that nobody else can move through the Web at all.

You cannot make a save, hence, you cannot become "loose", hence, you cannot move through the Web.

In other words, the enter case is not clearly defined. But, we do know one thing. Saves only occur when the spell is cast. The spell says so.

So, this portion of your proposed solution (applying a save) does not follow the wording of the spell.
 

What's wrong with having a creature (that enters the AoE after casting) considered "once loose"? You were "loose" before you entered, no? I'm defining "loose" as not immobilized by the spell. Sorry, I can't get away from using Rule #1. I fully understand Infiniti's case, but I just don't like it that much.
 

Warmage-in-Onley said:
What's wrong with having a creature (that enters the AoE after casting) considered "once loose"? You were "loose" before you entered, no? I'm defining "loose" as not immobilized by the spell. Sorry, I can't get away from using Rule #1. I fully understand Infiniti's case, but I just don't like it that much.

Precisely.
 

Warmage-in-Onley said:
I fully understand Infiniti's case, but I just don't like it that much.
I'm happy to hear that you fully understand it. That's my only objective. Trying to force you to accept it or agree with it is not my objective. I'm confident now that I've provided every bit of debate as I can and now we must agree to disagree. :)

My only other comment is on KD's last post. You threw out all of the rules in the main paragraph, so therefore you threw out not only my interpretation, but yours as well. (This will then be the third option--i.e. entangled only.) I think you've realized now what I've been saying is that without a save, the whole paragraph cannot be used. You cannot selectively take out two dependent sentences in it to support your position. Rule #4 must stay together. Split it into (a) and (b) if you want, but you cannot drop (a) and keep (b). I cannot and will not accept that as valid.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Btw, the option instead of "completely unaffected" would merely be entangled. I could live with that as I've said.

No, in order to be entangled you must be 'loose' which can only be achieved by making the reflex save or making the str/EA check.

KD said:
What is your definition of "loose"? Not fully entangled? Wasn't someone who enters not "loose" before he enters?

It's not mine, it's from the spell description, and it means anytime someone in a webbed spell have made a successful reflex save or strength/EA check...ie entangled and able to move. Read the spell, I quoted the portion I'm discussing.

KD said:
Sure. Do not ignore what is written in the spell:

Do that. It says that in order to be loose in the spell you have to either make the save or defeat the conditions of failing the save. It amazes me that you can chastise people for ignore portions of what is written while doing so yourself. The reason this happens is because the spell isn't exactly clear with regard to this situation.

As said originally, I play it that anyone entering is loose automatically, but that's not what is written IMO. I think the spell description has holes, and I made my call, but it's not able to be substantiated by the RAW one way or the other...or rather, it can be substantiated both ways. :D
 

werk said:
No, in order to be entangled you must be 'loose' which can only be achieved by making the reflex save or making the str/EA check.
In either case (failed save or successful save) you become entangled. If there is no save and ignore the main paragraph, you still have the sentence: "Creatures caught within a web become entangled among the gluey fibers."

I don't think it's necessary to interpret "caught within" as "failed your save" since in both circumstances you are entangled. I think "caught within" is equivalent to "become subject to"; which is a sufficient equivalency to prove entanglement.
 

werk said:
Do that. It says that in order to be loose in the spell you have to either make the save or defeat the conditions of failing the save. It amazes me that you can chastise people for ignore portions of what is written while doing so yourself.

It amazes me that you can chastise people for ignoring portions of what is written while doing so yourself.

KarinsDad said:
Combined with the "save only when cast" rule, that could indicate that nobody else is affected by the Web at all (which is a distinct possibility) or that nobody else can move through the Web at all.

You cannot make a save, hence, you cannot become "loose", hence, you cannot move through the Web.

You were saying?
 

KarinsDad said:
It amazes me that you can chastise people for ignoring portions of what is written while doing so yourself.



You were saying?

Sigh...
rolleyes.gif
 

Remove ads

Top